

RESULTS SUMMARY

OPEN SPEARFISHING COMPETITION CATEGORY	RESULT
Club Champion Pair & Runners-Up	Winners: JENNI BUDWORTH LUKE RANDELL Runners-up: CRAIG McNIVEN & KOBI McNIVEN
"A" Grade Division & Runner-Up	Winner: LUKE RANDELL Runner-up: CRAIG McNIVEN
"B" Grade Division & Runner-Up	Winner: PETER JOHNSON Runner-up: MICHAEL McCARTHY
Women's Division	Winner: JENNI BUDWORTH
Junior's Division	Winner: KEYAAN MILES ZADEH
Master's Division	Winner: LUKE RANDELL
Pelagic Competition & Runner-Up	Winner: LUKE RANDELL Runner-up: IAN BROWN

Background:

The Spearfishing Competition Rules have been updated for the 2022 – 2023 competition year.

In the Open Spearfishing Championship all competitions are swum in Pairs Format. Prior to each competition day two divers of similar capability team up and nominate to compete together as a Pair.

To account for odd numbers on boats three divers can nominate to dive together. The various pairs combinations arising from this are recorded as:

Diver 1 and Diver 2 score Diver 1 and Diver 3 score Diver 2 and Diver 3 score

The Open Spearfishing Championship is conducted for the duration of the competition year (which commences 1 July each year). The competition year is broken up into 4 separate quarters with a maximum of 4 competitions per quarter.

The highest points score each competition for each Category is awarded 100%, with all other points being percentage benchmarked against that of the highest points score (with the exception of the Pelagic Competition). Each competition held during a quarter enables competitors in each Category to attain the highest points score and therefore be awarded a score of 100% in that Category.

At the end of each quarter the highest recorded percentage in any one competition held during the quarter is recorded for each Category as the best result for that quarter; as such it is possible for multiple competitors / pairs to record the highest percentage of 100% in any one quarter in a particular Category. In the event of a draw, the overall highest percentage points from all competitions during the year is used. 'Zero' total scores have generally been omitted from the results.

This year there were 8 comps held:

Q1 – 1 comp held | Q2 – 1 comp held | Q3 – 3 comps held | Q4 – 3 comps held



CLUB CHAMPION PAIR

Awarded to the Club Champion Pair – two divers who have paired up during the Open Spearfishing Championship. Any division / Any gender / Any age combination. Based on "A" Grade species only.

Pair Name	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	Total
Jenni Budworth Luke Randell	100	0	100	100	300
Craig McNiven Kobi McNiven	0	100	41	0	141
Luke Randell Brad Corbett	0	0	0	100	100
James Wech Peter Johnson	0	0	100	0	100
James Wech Luke Randell	0	0	0	100	100
Allan Moore Simon Baarbe	0	0	100	0	100
Luke Randell Sebastian Bustamante	0	0	88	0	88
Keyaan Miles Zadeh Peter Johnson	0	0	66	19	85
Jenni Budworth Sebastian Bustamante	0	0	84	0	84
Ian Brown Damien Lynch	0	0	0	46	46
Michael McCarthy Ian Brown	0	0	0	46	46
Ian Brown Jacob Brown	0	0	41	0	41
Craig McNiven Chris Chard	0	0	41	0	41
Kobi McNiven Spencer Robinson	0	0	0	39	39
Craig McNiven Spencer Robinson	0	0	0	39	39
James Wech Keyaan Miles Zadeh	0	0	34	0	34
James Robertson Peter Johnson	0	0	0	24	24
James Loneragan James Robertson	0	0	0	24	24
Jolyon Peart Tiernan Dean	0	0	0	11	11
Allan Moore Tiernan Dean	0	0	0	11	11

"A" GRADE DIVISION

"A" Grade diver with the highest "A" Grade personal total combined percentage points over four quarters of the Open Spearfishing Championship.

Competitor	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	TOTAL
Luke Randell	100	0	100	100	300
Craig McNiven	0	100	100	0	200
lan Brown	0	0	79	46	125
Jenni Budworth	0	0	92	25	117
James Wech	0	0	100	0	100
Sebastian Bustamante	0	0	69	0	69



"B" GRADE DIVISION

"B" Grade diver with the highest "B" Grade personal total combined percentage points over four quarters of the Open Spearfishing Championship. Additional species allowed as per the scoresheet.

						Tie Breaker for
Competitor	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	Total	Runner-up
Peter Johnson	0	0	100	48	148	313
Michael McCarthy	0	0	100	0	100	200
James Loneragan	0	0	0	100	100	100
Spencer Robinson	0	0	0	100	100	100
Jared Cavanagh	100	0	0	0	100	100
Tiernan Dean	0	0	0	100	100	100
Keyaan Miles Zadeh	0	0	26	66	92	92
Allan Moore	0	0	82	0	82	82
James Robertson	0	0	0	45	45	45
Falvio Galasso	0	0	34	0	34	34
Tim Aldridge	0	0	34	0	34	34

PELAGIC COMPETITION

Pelagic species only as per the scoresheet. Diver in either division with the highest total combined points over four quarters of Pairs competition.

Competitor	Species pts	Weight Pts	TOTAL
Luke Randell	500	204	704
Ian Brown	200	112	312
Allan Moore	200	30	230
Peter Johnson	100	56	156
Craig McNiven	100	14	114
Jenni Budworth	100	9	109

WOMEN'S DIVISION

Female diver in either division with the highest personal total combined percentage points over four quarters of the Open Spearfishing Championship.

Competitor	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	TOTAL
Jenni Budworth	0	0	92	25	117
Tina Brown	0	0	0	0	0
Kate Starling	0	0	0	0	0



JUNIOR'S DIVISION

For competitors aged under 18. Junior diver with the highest personal total combined percentage points over four quarters of the Open Spearfishing Championship. Additional species allowed as per the scoresheet.

Competitor	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	TOTAL
Keyaan Miles Zadeh	0	0	100	100	200
Jacob Brown	0	0	0	0	0
Kobi McNiven	0	0	0	0	0
Jaxx McNiven	0	0	0	0	0

MASTER'S DIVISION

For competitors in either "A" or "B" Grade aged 45 or older. Diver with the highest personal total combined percentage points over four quarters of the Open Spearfishing Championship based on "A" Grade species only.

Competitor	Q1	Q2	Q3	Q4	Total
Luke Randell	100	0	100	100	300
Craig McNiven	0	100	41	0	141
lan Brown	0	0	79	46	125
Allan Moore	0	0	100	0	100
Peter Johnson	0	0	100	0	100
Spencer Robinson	0	0	0	39	39

COMPETITOR LIST

List of all members who participated in the Open Spearfishing Championship 2022 – 2023:

Allan Moore	lan Brown	Lachlan Worrell
Brad Corbett	Jacob Brown	Luke Randell
Charles McInnes	James Loneragan	Michael McCarthy
Charles Prosper	James Robertson	Peter Johnson
Chris Chard	James Wech	Sebastian Bustamante
Craig Brown	Jared Cavanagh	Simon Baarbe
Craig McNiven	Jaxx McNiven	Spencer Robinson
Damien Lynch	Jenni Budworth	Steve Williams
Daniel Brown	John Van Blanken	Tiernan Dean
Dennis Hansen	Jolyon Peart	Tim Aldridge
Drew Valentine	Kate Starling	Tina Brown
Flavio Galasso	Keyaan Miles Zadeh	
Gary Drew	Kobi McNiven	