NC APCO Meeting NENA/APCO State Conference Wilmington Hilton September 13, 2005

## Call to Order

Craig Blackwood called the meeting to order at 1453 pm

# Secretary's Report

Jimmy Jones made motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes from the July meeting in Haywood County. Motion was seconded by Donna Wright. Motion passed.

## Treasurer's Report

Savings	\$37,163.44
Checking	2,784.07
East Coast Regional	14,272.03
PSAP News	2,155.33
Total	\$56,374.87

Rob Robinson reported that there was 1 outstanding check for \$502.00

Donna Wright made motion to accept the Treasurers Report. Motion was seconded by Dinah Jefferies. Motion passed.

## **Executive Council**

Frank Thomason was unable to attend the meeting.

## **Member at Large Reports**

- A Franklin Jackson ABSENT
- **B** Judy Capparelli Deployed with TERT
- C Delbert Edwards ABSENT
- **D** Randy Surratt Talked with Dale Hall at Stokes County and they are Phase
- II. Reporting this is a huge asset due to the number of trails in the county. Also reporting that High Point will be presenting the 4<sup>th</sup> recipient with

Telecommunicator of the Year and that Beth is to be commended for putting this together she has taken this from a small affair to a large affair that the City Manager makes the presentation. Suggesting that if you do not award at your

center that you start. Thanks expressed to the person that put together the Monday night event it was a great change and lots more people involved for the entire event

E - VACANT

**F** - Brannon Young – ABSENT

# **Training Committee Report**

Jeryl gave un update from the NC Sheriffs Commission. During the August meeting tabled the discussion of mandating all Telecommunicators to be certified. However, it is mandated for the centers that are under the control of the Sheriff. Program is working with the Community Colleges and the Highway Patrol along with Curriculum updates being done. The Telecommunicator course is being taught as part of the Highway Patrol curriculum. The Mandatory Inservice will begin January 1, 2007. The requirement will be 16 hours and will consist of Suicide Callers, Emergency Call Taking, Officer Safety and other topics. Jeryl has a handout available. There may be an online training option.

# NC APCO Sponsored

Telecommunicator Conference 2006 in Salemburg. Telecommunicators we are the real thing will be the conference theme. May 30-June 2 \$100.00 Registration, Dorm space will be assigned when you pay.

Telecommunicator Insanity Retreat will be November 18<sup>th</sup> in New Bern \$20.00. WMD, ICS by Dinah, Officer Safety with Dinah and Sgt Wadell.

Jeryl thanked Craig for allowing her to serve the past year.

## **East Coast Regional**

Beth Smith reporting that there was a \$11,772.03 profit on the Conference and that the split between APCO and NENA was 40% to NENA at \$4,708.81 and 60% to APCO \$7,063.22. This will close out the account.

#### **Old Business**

No old business

#### **New Business**

No new business

## **Awards Presentation**

Conference awards were presented due to Hurricane Ophelia approaching and the need to cut short the Conference.

Telecommunicator of the Year was presented to Greg Hauser a Lead Telecommunicator with Charlotte.

Technician of the Year was awarded to James Heffren with Wireless Communications in Catawba County.

Commercial Member of the Year was presented to Paul Bratner.

Communications Center Manager of the Year was presented to Jim Carr with Chowan Communications.

1<sup>st</sup> VP Rob Robinson presented a special award to Jennifer Merkle Freeman for her hard work and dedication to the PSAP News.

## **Installation of Officers**

The slate of officers was announced for the upcoming year and all offices were unopposed. Craig asked if there were any nominations from the floor and Tonya Pierce stated that her boss Jim Soukup was interested in running for the 2<sup>nd</sup> VP Position. Dinah Jeffries challenged this based on the fact that Mr. Soukup was not in attendance and there was no way to validate that he is willing to run and the bylaws are unclear on this matter. Harold Oakley stated that Mr. Soukup had contacted him and told Harold that he had not received a nomination ballot and Harold stated that he faxed the requested form and never received any contact that it had not been received. With this the Dinah made a motion to close nominations. The motion was seconded by Jeryl Brown and the motion passed with any opposition.

NC APCO Officers for 2005-2006 were announced:

President Rob Robinson

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Susan Waddell

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Michael Reitz

Secretary Stephanie Wiseman

Treasurer Beth Smith

Executive Council Members At Large
Region A Franklin Jackson
Region B Judy Capparelli
Region C Delbert Edwards
Region D Randy Surratt
Region E Sonya Shores
Region F Brannon Young

Officers were sworn in by Immediate Past President Craig Blackwood.

Immediate Past President was presented a service plaque by President Rob Robinson.

President Robinson gave his acceptance speech.

Donna Wright made the motion to adjorn at 1540.