NC APCO Meeting NENA/APCO State Conference Wilmington Hilton September 13, 2006

### Call to Order

President Rob Robinson call the meeting to order at 2:43pm. He welcomed everyone and recognized Past Presidents. Past Presidents present were Marsha Withrow, Dinah Jeffries, and Gary Michael. President Robinson also recognized 1<sup>st</sup> time attendees, there were 10 present.

It was announced that CDE Certificates were available in the back of the room.

President Robinson also stated there would be a slight increase in dues this year, Tier 1 from \$83 to \$86, Member \$62 to \$64, and Commercial \$139 to \$144.

# Secretary's Report

Jim Car made a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes. Motion was seconded by Jerry Boggs. Motion Passed

# Treasurer's Report

Checking	2,191.95
Money Market	61,876.63
Telecommunicator Conf.	6,855.04
PSAP News	1,858.56
Total	\$72,782.18

Jim Carr made the motion to close the Books for the year. Jerry Boggs seconded the motion. Motion Passed.

### **Introductions**

President Robinson introduced the current board, Susan Wadell, Michael Reitz, Stephanie Wiseman, Beth Smith, Craig Blackwood.

Introduced the CJIN Rep Steve Lingerfelt from High Point.

## Member at Large Reports

**A** – Franklin Jackson – Chowan - Southern Software switched over with full mapping. Deciding next month on contract for new Law Enforcement Complex.

Dare County – Tony Capps reporting that installation of the Golden Leaf Radio, ACU4 1000, new building in 3-5 years and increased staffing, EMD back into center July 5<sup>th</sup>.

- **B** Judy Capparelli Reported Raleigh/Wake, Durham, and Johnston Counties are working on interoperability
- C Delbert Edwards Wayne County specification for Multi Site VHF Transmitter. Lenoir Now doing EFD, EMD and EPD.
- **D** Randy Surratt High Point- Steve Lingerfelt named Interim Director, Richard Nifong retired. Will be announcing Telecommunicator of the year on September 19.
- **E** Sonya Shores Mecklenburg Recorder Upgrade in the City Fire Department.
- **F** Brannon Young Ben Adams reported an upgrade of phone system to Viper, Pictrometry, Verizon with a new router and Positron Power Radio.

#### **PSAP News**

Kelly Palmer reported that she going to have lots of Pictures and the edition should be out in October.

# **Training Committee Report**

### NC APCO Sponsored

Telecommunicator Conference great success. 150 Attendees. There is a CD with pictures and footage of the conference. Next Conference will be in Salemburg April 1-3.

Jeryl reporting that she will be staying on the training committee with Dinah.

Orange County will be hosting CISM training.

Several CTO's across the state will be adding CTO-I to the schedule.

Dinah and Jeryl will be doing a Cultural Diversity course up to 2 days.

Jeryl reported on the Sheriffs Standards and that there will be mandatory continuing education training for those agencies under the control of the Sheriff, 16 hours. Jeryl is to write the curriculum General Instructor certified will be able teach. Final Product should be available in package in the bookstore r on the website. There will be train the trainer on Oct. 18, Nov. 14, 20, and Dec 11 in Salemburg.

Jeryl reporting that the Telecommunicator course has not been updated, August 2007 will be updated, if the updates affect the test there will need to be pilot programs.

The issue of the Telecommunicator Curriculum becoming mandatory statewide has been discussed and will involve legislation changes.

## **Long Range Plans**

President Robinson reporting there has been a line of dialogue opened up and there is an attempt to get the conference back to Charlotte.

#### **Executive Council**

Frank unable to attend, there are several items that will be posted.

#### **Old Business**

No Old Business

#### **New Business**

President Robinson reporting that Franklin Jackson will be stepping down from his Member at Large position and that it is not up for election. They will be taking nominations from the floor. Jim Carr nominated Tony Capps to fill the remaining term. Motion was seconded by Craig Whittington and passed with no opposition.

President recognized Past President Gary Michael and his retirement.

**Bylaw Changes** (Bylaws on the web site)

Resolution 1 – Motion by Dinah Jeffries. Seconded by Tony Capps. Passed.

Resolution 2 – Motion by Dinah Jeffries. Seconded by Donna Wright. Passed.

Resolution 3 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Donna Wright. Passed.

Resolution 4 – Motion by Dinah Jeffries. Seconded by Jim Carr. Passed.

Resolution 5 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Donna Wright. Passed.

Resolution 6 – Motion by Gary Michaels. Seconded by Jim Carr. Passed.

Resolution 7 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Dinah Jeffries. Passed.

Resolution 8 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Jerry Boggs. Passed.

Resolution 9 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Dinah Jeffries. Passed

Resolution 10 – Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Dinah Jeffries. Passed

Resolution 11 – Jim Carr requested to know if this meant that if a member at large steps down that the position will stay open until the next election. President Robinson reread the resolution. Motion by Jim Carr. Seconded by Donna Wright. Passed.

### **Other Business**

None

## **Installation of Officers**

NC APCO Officers for 2005-2006 were announced:

President Susan Waddell

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Michael Reitz

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Marsha Withrow

Secretary Judy Caparelli

Treasurer Beth Smith

Executive Council Frank Tomason

Members At Large

Region A Tony Capps
Region B Glen Parnell
Region C Delbert Edwards
Region D Randy Surratt
Region E Sonya Shores
Region F Ben Adams

All officers except the President were sworn in by Rob Robinson. The Presidential Swearing in will be at the closing banquet.

Next years conference will be at Sea Trails.

Dinah Jeffries made the motion to recess at 1523.