APCO Chapter Meeting September 12, 2007 Sunset Beach, NC

President Waddell called meeting to order and welcomed everyone to Sea Trail and Sunset Beach

President Waddell recognized first time attendees and past presidents.

Motion was made by Dinah Jeffries to dispense with the reading of the minutes and seconded by Jerry Boggs. Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Totals as of September 6th:

TC Conference \$3,962.13 Business Checking \$5,160.94 Money Market \$62,091.05

PSAP accounts closed August 20th since the PSAP news is no longer being mailed.

TOTAL \$71,214.12

At the end of September the books will be closed for review and audit.

Committee Reports

Operations/Technology – Chris Cloninger – No Report.

Interagency Communications – Scott Lambert – No Report

CJIN – Steven Lingerfelt – No Report – there will be a meeting held tomorrow.

<u>Awards</u> - Jennifer Freeman – awards to be given out at banquet.

<u>Training</u> – Jeryl Brown

We had a full training calendar for 2006-2007 and had many great classes. There were several APCO CTO classes held. Jeryl thanked Captain Dinah Jeffries for her assistance and for opening up her internal classes for all membership. Jeryl announced there will be no Critical Incident Stress Management training until next calendar year. Capt. Jeffries and Sgt. Waddell with SHP will be coordinating this training. Information can be found on the NC APCO website.

2008 Telecommunicator Conference will be May 27th -30th at the Justice Academy in Salemburg. Registration will be \$100. The format will change slightly. There will be a third day with a four-hour block of training.

A reminder regarding the 2007 Telecommunicator required in-service. 16 hours of training are required for those who work under the direction of a Sheriff. For those who are not under the direction of a sheriff but are certified, they are still expected to complete the 16 hours of training. Training must be received by December 31st. There will be inservice training on October 15th and 16th at Wayne Community College in Goldsboro. 2008 TC topics are available for the 16 hours of con-ed starting January 1st. The curriculums and power points will be available on-line and for sale in the book store on October 15th. There will be train the trainer on October 30th at the Edneyville campus and November 1st and December 5th at the Salemburg campus. Topics for 2008 are: TTY, domestic violence, Critical Incident, civil liability, customer service and EMS/fire/rescue communications

Member-at-Large Reports

Region A – Ed Conran. Dare County moving forward with 800 Mhz system. The new center for Hyde County is nearly complete – online within 60 days, which will include a CAD system. Pitt County is looking for a new mapping system. Currituck County and Dare County are both short of staff.

Region B- Glen Parnell. Not present

Region C – Delbert Edwards – nothing to report.

Region D – Randy Surratt. Forsyth County – Winston Salem State University will be added to the city/county radio system. Wake Forest University will also be joining the system. David Matthews in Yadkin County – still working on mapping the county with Vision Air. Anson County having some problem with routing issues. Davidson County hopes to move into their new center this month.

Sunguard/OSSI has bags available for anyone who is interested as they leave the meeting today.

Region E – Sonya Shores – nothing to report.

Region F – Ben Adams – nothing to report

Executive Council - National APCO in Baltimore had more than 7,000 attendees.

<u>Wireless</u> – Richard Taylor reported there is a lot of activity with the passing of 1755. The board meets the 28th in Raleigh. The Wireless Board will have informational sessions before January 1st to help with questions about Bill 1755. There is a rumor that

if you don't spend your wireless money by 12/31 the state will take your money back – this is not true

Old Business

Instructor guidelines have been posted on the NC APCO website under training. Our goal is to gather instructors throughout NC so there is a bank of instructors throughout the state. If you are an instructor please check the website and consider becoming an APCO instructor.

The National APCO Registered Public Safety Leader (RPL) program has been finished. David Dodd and Stephanie Wiseman were recognized on having finished this course.

July 2005 kicked off the beginning of Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) courses. APCO has funded many of these courses. The team will be called the North Carolina Telecommunicator APCO Critical Incident Stress Management Team (NC TACT). The qualifications for this team are listed on the website. The NC TACT coordinator is Dinah Jeffries and Sgt. Waddell from NC SHP will be the resident expert. All questions regarding this team shall be referred to Dinah Jeffries. Dinah reported that this is a peer-driven process. You will hear little about this team other than the training.

New Business

Mike Reitz reported that there have been discussions regarding joining forces with South Carolina APCO and NENA for the annual conference. This is just in the talking phase at this time. We are talking to vendors and members. There would be a lot of groundwork that would need to be done – we are in the very beginning stages. Marsha Withrow advised no decision would be made until all members had a chance to vote on this. Gary Michael asked if we had talked to vendors and what they were saying at this point. Marsha Withrow and Tonya Pierce attended an exhibitor meeting where this was discussed and the vendors were very interested in this idea. Vendors are being forced to choose between conferences and where they are going to spend their money. One of the issues that has been brought up is that a lot of counties cannot send people out of state.

Dinah Jeffries asked if SC already had a joint meeting. The answer was yes. Dinah Jeffries asked if it would separate North Carolina or keep APCO and NENA together. Sharon Bowers Plant/CML has participated in both organizations. They are both very strong organizations and she doesn't want to see anything happen to that because of politics. She would like to offer up that SC has a spring APCO conference and this may be an option. She suggested considering a training session or an informational session in the spring instead of combining everything in the fall. This spring session would not have vendor hall but would still be vendor-sponsored. She suggested testing this first before combining the main conference. It may be hard to spend quality time with such a large group – such as happens in National Conferences.

Nominating Committee – Marsha Withrow read the results of the election. The following are the:

Region A – Ed Conran (unopposed)

Region B – Glen Parnell

Rection C – Delbert Edwards (unopposed)

Region D – Randy Surratt

Region E – Grayson Gusa

Region F – Ben Adams

President – Mike Reitz (by advancement)

1st VP – Marsha Withrow (by advancement)

2nd VP – Jeryl Brown

Treasurer – Beth Smith (unopposed)

Secretary – Judy Capparelli (unopposed)

Executive Council – Frank Thomason (unopposed)

Board members were sworn in with the exception of the President elect.

Jerry Boggs made a motion to recess the meeting. Motion was seconded by Gary Michael. Motion carried.

The following Awards were presented at the closing Banquet:

Nancy Williams 2007 APCO Line Supervisor of the Year Award

Steve Lomax 2007 Commercial Member of the Year Award

Scott Lambert 2007 APCO Technician of the Year Award

Joshua Helms 2007 APCO Telecommunicator of the Year Award

Randy Surratt Presidents award (Randy is the Region D Member at Large)

Following the awards, the new President, Mike Reitz, was sworn in.

The meeting was adjourned at the closing banquet.