SHEPPEY DARTS CLASSIC 2019

The Sheppey Darts Classic was held at the Co-Op Sports and Social Club after they came forward and saved it from being cancelled due to no sponsor this year. On Saturday the turnout was almost what we had in previous years which was good as with a new venue and letting everybody know it was on again after being cancelled due to no sponsor or venue. Saturday's competition's started with the open pairs and the entry was only three pairs short of last year.

RESULTS

PAIRS COMPETITION

Quarter finals: Glen Dewick/Danny Birmingham beat Morgan Scott/Luca Scott 3-0, Diago Portella/ Arteur Vale beat Dan Parker/Andrew Wellar 3-0, Josh Payne/Ryan Hope beat Robbie Turner/Peter Green 3-2, Conan Whitehead/Lewis McGurn beat Dean Coughlan/Jonny Stefano 3-0.

Semi-finals: Portella/Valle beat Dewick/Birmingham 4-1, Payne/Hope beat Whitehead/McGurn 4-3. The losing semi-finalist pair received £50.00

Final: The final was a runaway when Josh Payne and Ryan Hope had a convincing 4-0 win over Diago Portella and Artuer Vale. Payne and Hope had an average of 27.95 per dart against Portella's and Valle's 23.43. As champions Payne and Hope received £300.00 and the runners up £100.00.

YOUTH COMPETITION

Once again the youth competition was well supported thanks to the Youth Academy from Hern Bay who help these youngsters attain a high standard of play, they are also encouraged to do their own scoring and more important learn to lose well as win.

Quarter finals: Lewis Bennett beat Seth Evans 2-0, Laca Scott beat George Parker 2-0, Kyle Terry beat Oliver Dunham 2-0, Ben Cunningham beat Ryan Burford 2-0.

Semi-finals: Lewis Bennett beat Laca Scott 2-0 with a 20.04 average against Scott's 19.40, Ben Cunningham beat Kyle Terry 2-0 with a 14.47 average against Terry's 13.91. Scott and Terry received £15 each as losing semi-finalist.

Final: Lewis Bennett beat Ben Cunningham 3-0 with a 21.78 average against Cunningham's 18.52 both of these players show a lot of potential for the future. Lewis received £100.00 as youth champion and Ben received £50.00 as runner up.

LADIES SINGLES

Although we would like to see more ladies the entry was slightly up on last year.

Quarter finals: Jo Deamer beat Chelsea Walsh 3-0, Marlene Badger beat Nadin Rudd 3-0, Helen Ward beat Tarra Deamer 3-0, Lisa Dunford beat Laura McDine 3-0.

Semi- finals: Marlene Badger beat Jo Deamer 3-1, Helen Ward beat Lisa Dunford 3-2.

Final: Helen Ward beat Marlene Badger 4-2 to win the ladies championship. Ward received £100.00 and Badger £50.00 as runner up.

<u>SUNDAY</u>

OPEN SINGLES COMPETITION

Last 16: Conan Whitehead beat Robbie James 4-0, Tom McGurn beat Lewis McGurn 4-3, Diago Potela beat Vinny Walsh 4-0, Lee Mills beat John Ross 4-0, Don Dillon beat Ken McCarthy 4-0, Nick Cocks beat Michael Barnard 4-2, Josh Payne beat Lee Cocks 4-0, Richie Edhouse beat George Cressey 4-1. Each of the losers received £25.00.

Quarter finals: Conan Whitehead beat Tom McGurn 4-1, Diago Portela beat Lee Mills 4-0, Nick Cocks beat Don Dillon 4-3, Josh Payne beat Richie Edhouse 4-3. Each of the losers received £50.00.

Semi-finals: Diago Potela beat Conan Whitehead 5-1 with a 26,48 average against Whiteheads 24.22 and Josh Payne beat Nick Cocks 5-2 with an average of 29.42 against Cocks 27.02. Each of the losers won £100.00.

Final: Diago Portela won 6-5 against Josh Payne with an average of 27.86 against Payne's 30.32 to win the Sheppey Darts Classic 2019 and £1,000 leaving Payne £400.00 as runner up. This was a great final with Payne going ahead 3-1 and hitting three maximum 180s but Portela was not finished he fought back also hitting two maximum 180s to take the title. David Ingram from the Rose Inn, Queenborough also presented Josh Payne with £100 he sponsored for hitting the first maximum 180 in the final. It was very disappointing for Sheppey as last years winner Ryan Hope lost in the first round but it was a consolation it was to the eventual winner, Ryan also had the consolation of winning the pairs final with his partner Josh Payne.

Although the entry was a little down on last year what we lacked in numbers was certainly made up with the quality of players and the finals were supported by more people than previous classics.

Our thanks must go to the Co-Op Club for saving this competition and all my helpers in putting up the dart stands, Ken Priestley, Robbie Turner and Shiralee Whitehead for taking over the running as I was unable to this year also thanks to Vince Walsh for comparing the stage finals. We will now be in talks with the Co-Op club to see about keeping the competition there in the future.

Tony Cox Tel: 07747676676