## Blue Ridge Council of Teachers of Mathematics

### **Meeting Minutes**

## May 4, 2020 (Virtual)

## Attendees:

- Kelsey Huffman (Roanoke County) Webmaster and President
- Terry Hartley (Roanoke County) Secretary
- Ashley Pratt (DSLCC) Treasurer
- Jane Wolfe (Botetourt) Member
- Donna Snyder (Roanoke City) Member
- Carrie Bush (Roanoke County) Member
- Beth Swain (Salem) Member
- Jennifer Wall (Montgomery County) Member
- 1. The meeting was called to order at 4:15pm.
- 2. The previous meeting's minutes were reviewed, and Beth Swain made a motion to accept them as written. Ashley Pratt seconded the motion and the minutes were unanimously approved.
- 3. The treasurer's report was presented, and Jane Wolfe made a motion to accept it as written. The motion was seconded by Carrie Bush and the report was unanimously approved.
- 4. Old Business
  - Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the VCTM conference was canceled and the registration fee was refunded.

# 5. New Business

- 2020 Conference
  - The BRCTM conference will be held on Monday, Oct. 5, 2020 (barring any restrictions due to Covid-19).
  - William Fleming HS will be the site for the conference. Donna Snyder is coordinating with Suzanne Bazak on the use of the building.
  - All board members are encouraged to solicit speakers and presenters for the conference.
  - Theme: Jane Wolfe suggested a theme of resiliency and Kelsey Huffman discussed including speakers who will share technology strategies that have been learned due to online learning. The theme will be decided upon after a speaker is found.
  - The Salad Factory will cater the conference (if they are still in business). They will be contacted in Aug./Sept. 2020.
- Ryan Albee of Patrick Henry HS was selected as the winner of the 2020 BRCTM Scholarship.
- Ashley Pratt agreed to spearhead the development of a BRCTM social media presence (Instagram, Twitter, etc.) This will start in summer 2020.

- Kelsey Huffman will use her role as past president to liaise with NCTM to develop more information and resources for our teachers.
- 6. New Officers for 2020-21:
  - Terry Hartley will assume the role of BRCTM President.
  - Jane Wolfe will assume the role of BRCTM Secretary.
  - Ashley Pratt and Carrie Bush will carry out the duties of the BRCTM Webmaster.
- 7. The next meeting is August 10, 2020. The location (virtual or in-person) will be decided at a later date.
- 8. Future meeting dates:
  - August 10, 2020
  - October 5, 2020 (conference)
  - December 7, 2020
  - February 1, 2021
  - May 3, 2021
- 9. The meeting was adjourned at 4:46pm.

Respectfully submitted,

**Terry Hartley**