

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: press@scte.org

SCTE® Recognizes Dennis Russell as Member of the Year
The Annual SCTE Awards were Presented During TechExpo24 in Atlanta

Exton, Pa. — **(October 18, 2024)** — The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE*), a CableLabs* subsidiary, has announced its Member of the Year as Dennis Russell, plant superintendent, at Madison Communications. This renowned award honors the SCTE member who has made the most significant contributions to the Society through active participation in its programs and efforts during the past year.

Dennis Russell is recognized as an example of how to support chapter success year after year. This individual's collaborative nature has allowed his local chapter to continue to raise the bar each year in providing the best training and support for the membership. He is active within the Gateway Chapter, participating in the Vendor Day Committee, A/V Committee, Social Media Committee, Chapter Budget Committee, Scholarship Inception Committee, and Social Outreach to Cable Leadership Committee.

"He is appreciated for his attention to detail and his pursuit of excellence. His Gateway Chapter leaders can't say enough about him," noted Sam Acoff, headend manager at Comcast Communications, and last year's SCTE Member of the Year. "A fellow chapter leader wrote, 'Through great training topics and reaching across to help other chapters, there is nobody more deserving of this award than Dennis!"

The broadband industry's largest and most influential show was where SCTE announced Dennis Russell as the winner of the prestigious honor, during the opening general session of SCTE TechExpo24 in Atlanta, Georgia. Introduced by last year's SCTE Member of the Year, Sam Acoff, SCTE reserved time to celebrate Russell and highlight the achievements of each of the 2024 SCTE Award winners as they're helping to shape the future of the SCTE Chapters.

SCTE honored this year's distinguished <u>SCTE Annual Award winners</u> for their contribution in several additional categories, including:

- Chairman's Award Winners Linda King (Senior Vice President of Market Expansion, Field Operations, Business Continuity Planning, Cox Communications) and Bill Warga (SCTE Engineering Committee Chair and Vice President, Strategy & Technology, Liberty Global)
- Excellence in Learning & Development Award Winner Scott Farquhar (Tech & Safety Training, Charter Communications)
- Excellence in Standards Award Winner Richard S. Prodan, Ph.D. (Fellow, Comcast)
- Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr. Rising Leader Award Winner Cole Newman (Senior Director of Implementation, Vyve Broadband)

"Please join SCTE in congratulating Dennis Russell of Madison Communications and the Gateway Chapter as the 2024 SCTE Member of the Year," said Maria Popo, president and CEO of SCTE. "We recognize the importance of our chapters and the crucial role each of the 2024 SCTE award winners play in training and equipping our workforce. We applaud Dennis and each honoree for giving back to our industry."



About SCTE®, a subsidiary of CableLabs®

SCTE is shaping the future of connectivity. Through technological leadership and innovation, SCTE has served as the applied science leader for the cable telecommunications industry for more than five decades. As a not-for-profit member organization, SCTE moves member companies forward through continuous training for the workforce of tomorrow and by putting leaders into the conversations that matter. SCTE is the force behind the annual SCTE Cable-Tec Expo, the largest cable telecommunications and technology tradeshow in the Americas. Learn more at www.scte.org.

