



The **LARRY THOMAS CUP** is a perpetual trophy awarded to the winner of the annual H.B.Y.C. HUDSON TO HOOTERS RACE.

Larry Thomas was a long time member of the H.B.Y.C. After he passed away, his family donated funds to purchase something for the club to remember Larry, since the Club was very important to him.

Larry had a powerboat that he used as a Committee Boat for the H.B.Y.C sailboat races. The HUDSON TO HOOTERS RACE was a favorite of Larry's so the club decided to use the funds to purchase a perpetual trophy in his honor, to present to the winner of that race each year.

The HUDSON TO HOOTERS RACE is traditionally held in October and is usually the last race of the racing season. The race starts near Marker 2 at the outer end of the Hudson Channel and finishes near Marker 1 at the outer end of the Port Richey Channel, which follows the Pithlachascotee "Cotee" River into Port Richey.

After the race, the racers, committee boat and spectator boats, motor through the Cotee River Channel to Hooters Bar and Grille where they are joined by other club members for food, drinks and camaraderie.

Although the HUDSON TO HOOTERS RACE has been held annually since 1997, the LARRY THOMAS CUP has only been awarded since 2011.

WINNERS:

2011	DAVE ZIMMER	"CAT CAN DO"	
2012	MIKE NUNES	"ENTERPRISE"	
2013	IAN HODGES	"MISS LYNNE"	
2014	MIKE NUNES	"PLATYPUS"	
2015	MIKE NUNES	"PLATYPUS"	
2016	DEAN PERRY	"FINE ALEE"	
2017	DEAN PERRY	"FINE ALEE"	(Monohull)
2017	TIM SANDER	"PAISLEY MAE"	(Multihull)
2018	BILL SLOAN	"RESOLUTE"	(Monohull)
2018	TIM SANDER	"PAISLEY MAE"	(Multihull)
2019	MIKE NUNES	"PLATYPUS	(Monohull)
2019	TIM SANDER	"PAISLEY MAE"	(Multihull)
2020	BILL SLOAN	"RESOLUTE"	(Monohull)
2020	JOE LINQUIST	"FRAYED KNOT"	(Multihull)
2021	NO RACE, but we had the	party!	

2022	ERIC GLASER	"NO NAME"	(Monohull)	
2022	GEORGE MARTIN	"TRI ME"	(Multihull)	
2023	ERIC GLASER	"NO NAME"	(Monohull)	
2023	GEORGE MARTIN	"TRI ME"	(Multihull)	
2024	NO RACE, due to exter	NO RACE, due to extensive Hurricane Helene damage		