## WABASH AND OHIO VALLEY SPECIAL EDUCATION DISTRICT David Kaytor, Director



800 S. Division Street | Norris City, Illinois 62869 | 618-378-2131 | Fax: 618-378-3153 | www.wovsed.org

The Governing Board of the Wabash and Ohio Valley Special Education District (WOVSED) of Edwards, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties, Illinois, met on August 25, 2020 at 7:00 p.m., in regular session at the WOVSED Norris City Annex in Norris City, Illinois. All members had been previously notified of the time and place of the meeting.

The meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m. by Vice-Chairman Rob Traiteur. Upon Roll Call the following members were found present: Mike Wilson, Allendale CC #17; Clay Nolen, Carrier Mills CU #2; Dale Woods, Edwards Co. CU #1; Shane Neuman, Fairfield CU #112; Scott Merkle, Fairfield HS #225; Aaron Allen, Galatia CU #1; Stephanie Hatcher, Grayville CU #1; Ellen Rubenacker, Hamilton Co. CU #10; Jonathan Russell, Harrisburg CU #3; Derek Demaret, Jasper CC #17; Rob Traiteur, North Wayne CU #200; John Wallace, Pope Co. CUSD #1; Neil Earnest, Wabash #348; and David Kaytor, WOVSED Director. The following members were not present for the meeting: Kelli Chapman, Carmi-White Co. CU #5; Grant Loudy, Eldorado CU #4; Steve Galt, Gallatin Co. CUSD #7; Shannon Lambert, Geff CC #14; Derrick Armstrong, Hardin Co. CU #1; Joe Lane, NCOE #3; Derek Smothers, New Hope CC #6; and Mike Ehrhart, Wayne CU #100.

There were 13 members present, 8 absent, thus a quorum was declared and the meeting opened for official business.

Motion made by Merkle, seconded by Allen to approve the following slate of candidates for the 2020-2021 Governing Board: Mike Wilson, Chairman; Rob Traiteur, Vice Chairman; Jonathan Russell, Secretary. Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-absent; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Loudy-absent; Neuman-aye; Merkle-aye; Allen-aye; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-aye; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-aye; Demeret-aye; Lane-absent; Smothers-absent; Traiteur-aye; Wallace-aye; Earnest-aye; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

Motion by Merkle, seconded by Earnest that the Consent Agenda Items be approved by the board as follows:

- a) Approve minutes of Governing Board June 2020 (Enclosed)
- b) Approve minutes of Executive Board as presented for the months of May & June 2020 (Enclosed)
- c) Destruction of Executive Session Audio Tapes older than 18 months per provision of Section 2.06<sup>°</sup> of the Open Meeting Act.

Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-absent; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Loudy-absent; Neuman-aye; Merkle-aye; Allen-aye; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-aye; Rubenacker aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-aye; Demeret-aye; Lane-absent; Smothers-absent; Traiteur-aye; Wallace-aye; Earnest-aye; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried. There were no items under Public Comments.

Under Agenda Item "Director's Report", Director Kaytor discussed the following: a) Update on Opening the School Year

There were no items under Old Business:

Under New Business:

Motion made by Merkle, seconded by Allen to approve the Financial Report. Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-absent; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Loudy-absent; Neuman-aye; Merkle-aye; Allen-aye; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-aye; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-aye; Demeret-aye; Lane-absent; Smothers-absent; Traiteur-aye; Wallace-aye; Earnest-aye; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

Motion made by Wallace, seconded by Merkle to approve the FY 2021 Budget. Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-absent; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Loudy-absent; Neuman-aye; Merkle-aye; Allen-aye; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-aye; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-aye; Demeret-aye; Lane-absent; Smothers-absent; Traiteur-aye; Wallace-aye; Earnest-aye; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

Motion made by Wallace, seconded by Merkle to approve the update to Policy 4:180 Pandemic Preparedness (Face Coverings). Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-absent; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Loudy-absent; Neuman-aye; Merkle-aye; Allen-aye; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-aye; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-aye; Demeret-aye; Lane-absent; Smothers-absent; Traiteur-aye; Wallace-aye; Earnest-aye; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

Motion by Merkle, seconded by Wilson to adjourn the meeting at 7:09 p.m. Voice vote indicated all ayes, motion carried.

Board Chairman

Secretary

Minutes from: August 25, 2020 Approval Date: November 17, 2020