

WABASH AND OHIO VALLEY SPECIAL EDUCATION DISTRICT David Kaytor, Director

800 S. Division Street | Norris City, Illinois 62869 | 618-378-2131 | Fax: 618-378-3153 | www.wovsed.org

The Executive Board of the Wabash and Ohio Valley Special Education District (WOVSED) of Edwards, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties, Illinois, met on December 17, 2019 at 10:30 a.m., in regular session at the WOVSED Central Office in Norris City, Illinois. All members had been previously notified of the time and place of the meeting.

WOVSED Executive Board Chair, Chuck Bleyer, called the meeting to order at 10:33 a.m. Upon roll call the following members were found to be present: David Cowger, Edwards Co. CU #1; Judy Kaegi, Gallatin Co. CUSD #7; Andy Edmondson, Hardin Co. CU #1; Ryan Hobbs, Eldorado CUSD #4; Chuck Bleyer, Wabash CU #348; Julie Harrelson, New Hope CC #6; Sarah Emery, Grayville CUSD #1 and ex-officio member Beth Rister, ROE #20. The board members absent from the meeting were Jeff Fetcho, Hamilton Co. CU #10 and Bailey Climer, Pope Co. CUSD #7.

Motion made by Cowger, seconded by Harrelson that the Consent Agenda items be approved by the board as follows:

- a. Approval of Board Minutes (11/26/2019)
- b. Approval of Monthly Bills
- c. Approval of Financial Report
- d. Destruction of Executive Session Audio Tapes older than 18 months per provision of Section 2.06(c) of the Open Meetings Act.

Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

There were no items under Public Comments.

Under Agenda Item "Director's Report", Director Kaytor discussed the following:

Tuition report for the Annex.

Old Business:

Motion made by Edmondson, seconded by Cowger for the Approval of the FY 19 Audit. Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

New Business:

Motion made by Kaegi, seconded by Harrelson to adopt Policy 4.190 Targeted School Violence Prevention Program. Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

Motion made by Kaegi, seconded by Harrelson to accept Policy update 5.50 Drug and Alcohol Free Workplace. Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

Motion made by Kaegi, seconded by Harrelson to accept Policy update 7.190 & 7.190-AP4 Student Behavior. Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

Motion made by Cowger, seconded by Edmondson to employ Sarron Orrick, Paraprofessional for the 2019-2020 school year. Roll Call indicated: Cowger-aye; Kaegi-aye; Fetcho-absent; Edmondson-aye; Climer-absent; Hobbs-aye; Bleyer-aye; Harrelson-aye; Emery-aye. Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn made by Emery at 11:02 a.m., seconded by Harrelson. Voice Vote indicated: All Ayes; Motion carried.

Minutes from: December 17, 2019 Approval Date: January 28, 2020

Secretary