

WABASH AND OHIO VALLEY SPECIAL EDUCATION DISTRICT David Kaytor, Director

800 S. Division Street | Norris City, Illinois 62869 | 618-378-2131 | Fax: 618-378-3153 | www.wovsed.org

The Governing Board of the Wabash and Ohio Valley Special Education District (WOVSED) of Edwards, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties, Illinois, met on November 27, 2018 at 7:00 p.m., in regular session at the WOVSED Central Office in Norris City, Illinois. All members had been previously notified of the time and place of the meeting.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Chairman Scott Merkle. Upon Roll Call the following members were found present: Mike Wilson, Allendale CC #17; Kelli Chapman, Carmi-White Co. CU #5; Clay Nolen, Carrier Mills CU #2; Dale Woods, Edwards Co. CU #1; Ron Bradley, Eldorado CU #4; Scott Merkle, Fairfield HS #225; Ellen Rubenacker, Hamilton Co. CU #10; Blaine Norton, Jasper CC #17; Joe Lane by proxy Matt Vollman, NCOE #3; Derek Smothers, New Hope CC #6; Rob Traiteur, North Wayne CU #200; Dan Coen, Pope Co. CUSD #1; and David Kaytor, WOVSED Director. The following members were not present for the meeting: Shane Neuman, Fairfield CU #112; Aaron Allen, Galatia CU #1; Steve Galt, Gallatin Co. CUSD #7; Shannon Lambert, Geff CC #14; Stephanie Hatcher, Grayville CU #1; Derrick Armstrong, Hardin Co. CU #1; Jonathan Russell, Harrisburg CU #3; Neil Earnest, Wabash #348; and Mike Ehrhart, Wayne CU #100.

There were 12 members present, 9 absent, thus a quorum was declared and the meeting opened for official business.

Motion by Norton, seconded by Coen that the Consent Agenda Items be approved by the board as follows:

- a) Approve minutes of Governing Board August 2018
- b) Approve minutes of Executive Board as presented for the months of July, August, and September 2018
- c) Destruction of Executive Session Audio Tapes older than 18 months per provision of Section 2.06(c) of the Open Meetings Act.

Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-aye; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Bradley-aye; Neuman-absent; Merkle-aye; Allen-absent; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-absent; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-absent; Norton-aye; Lane-aye; Smothers-aye; Traiteur-aye; Coen-aye; Earnest-absent; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

There were no items under Public Comments.

Under Agenda Item "Director's Report", Director Kaytor discussed the following:

a) ISBE Funding Changes

There was no Old Business.

Under New Business:

Motion made by Wilson, seconded by Norton to approve the Financial Report. Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-aye; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Bradley-aye; Neuman-absent; Merkle-aye; Allen-absent; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-absent; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-absent; Norton-aye; Lane-aye; Smothers-aye; Traiteur-aye; Coenaye; Earnest-absent; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

FY18 Audit Approval was tabled for the February 26, 2019 meeting due to the auditor waiting on a letter from DHS.

Motion made by Norton, seconded by Woods to approve the Director's Evaluation. Roll Call indicated: Wilson-aye; Chapman-aye; Nolen-aye; Woods-aye; Bradley-aye; Neuman-absent; Merkle-aye; Allen-absent; Galt-absent; Lambert-absent; Hatcher-absent; Rubenacker-aye; Armstrong-absent; Russell-absent; Norton-aye; Lane-aye; Smothers-aye; Traiteur-aye; Coen-aye; Earnest-absent; Ehrhart-absent; Motion carried.

Changes to Article VI of the Joint Agreement were discussed in regards to ISBE changing the distribution of IDEA funds.

Motion by Wilson, seconded by Norton to adjourn the meeting at 7:15 p.m. Voice vote indicated all ayes, motion carried.

Board Chairman		
Secretary		

Minutes from: November 27, 2018 Approval Date: February 26, 2019