

East Hampton Town Board

159 Pantigo Road East Hampton, NY 11937

ADOPTED

RESOLUTION 2014-144

Meeting: 02/06/14 06:30 PM
Department: Town Attorney
Category: Committees
Prepared By: John Jilnicki
Initiator: John Jilnicki
Sponsors: Kathee Burke-Gonzalez

DOC ID: 13410 A

Airport Planning Committee Formation and Appointments

WHEREAS, the Town Board desires to form an Airport Planning Committee that will consist of two sub-committees, one being individuals in the aviation community and the other consisting of persons interested in pursuing noise abatement measures at the airport to reduce the impact of aviation activities upon the surrounding community; and

WHEREAS, a bicameral approach will allow us to have an orderly process in which to address these divergent and important concerns; and

WHEREAS, it is the goal of the committee, through discussion among these two sub-committees, to draft a plan for the Airport that addresses noise abatement, airport operations, infrastructure and capital financing, with the two sub-committees working on parallel tracks. Once consensus is reached within the respective sub-committees, the committee will work together to build a final consensus to present to the Town Board and the public; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the sub-committees will be structured as follows:

Sub-Committee for Noise Abatement Advocates

This sub-committee will consist of representatives of the former constituted Airport Noise Abatement Advisory Committee, Quiet Skies Coalition, Northwest Alliance, the Village Preservation Society, and the Committee to Stop Airport Expansion, and will include:

Kathy Cunningham Frank Dalene Charles Ehren David Gruber Tom MacNiven Jim Matthews Pat Trunzo Peter Wolf

Jim Brundige, Airport Manager and Kathee Burke-Gonzalez as non-voting members

Sub-Committee for Aviation Community

This sub-committee will consist of representatives from the Pilots Association and the Fixed Base Operators.

Councilperson Burke-Gonzalez is requested to continue to discuss with the aviation community its views on suitable representatives to be appointed to the Aviation Community sub-committee, with representatives to that sub-committee to be appointed by this Board at a later date.

Updated: 2/4/2014 3:11 PM by Carole A. Brennan A

RESULT: ADOPTED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Kathee Burke-Gonzalez, Councilwoman

SECONDER: Peter Van Scoyoc, Councilman

AYES: Burke-Gonzalez, Van Scoyoc, Overby, Overton, Cantwell