
In this video, the 1st baseman straddling the bag on a pick-off aƩempt at 1st base, hinders the runner 
returning to 1st base.  (we don't have runners leading off at Majors & below, but a similar thing could 
happen when the catcher throws down aƩempƟng to pick off a runner who has leŌ the base aŌer the 
pitch reaches the baƩer) 
 
The runner is clearly hindered in returning to 1st base.  He’s enƟtled to the enƟre base, and he’s enƟtled 
to reach the base however he chooses (the fielder straddling the base almost compels him to slide/dive). 
 
Whenever a runner is being played on at the moment they are impeded, it is Type A obstrucƟon.  The 
ball is immediately dead.  The type A obstrucƟon rule requires the obstructed runner be awarded “at 
least” one base beyond the base legally occupied at the Ɵme of obstrucƟon.  Whether he would have 
achieved that base or not does not maƩer.  This runner is awarded 2nd base. 
 
Although it would be unusual, you can award addiƟonal bases to the obstructed runner when type A 
obstrucƟon occurs.  With Type A obstrucƟon, the ball is immediately dead.  However, if a ball was in 
flight at the moment type A obstrucƟon occurred, and the throw is wild (ball is thrown away) you could 
award addiƟonal bases.  If the ball was in flight at the moment of Type A obstrucƟon & subsequently 
entered a dead ball area, you would award addiƟonal bases if appropriate by rule, for the ball being 
thrown out of play.   
 
Any other runners are awarded bases they would have reached had obstrucƟon not occurred.   Other 
runners may be “forced” (not the completely correct use of the term, but it works) due to the award to 
the obstructed runner. 
 
 


