
Per the rulebook definiƟons, obstrucƟon is an act by a defensive player, not in possession of the ball & not in the act of 
fielding a baƩed ball, that impedes the progress of a runner.  In this video, the first baseman has impeded the baƩer-
runner by being in the runner’s basepath without possession of the ball, causing the runner to deviate their path to go 
around them.  There does not need to be contact for the umpire to adjudge obstrucƟon.  If the runner is impeded in any 
way, they have been obstructed. 
 
This is an example of Type B obstrucƟon (the runner is not being played on at the moment of obstrucƟon).  The correct 
mechanic is to point at the infracƟon & say “That’s obstrucƟon” (not too loudly; don’t yell it) and leave the ball in play.  
With Type B obstrucƟon, there is no automaƟc base award to the obstructed runner (unlike the situaƟon with Type A 
obstrucƟon).  Per Rule 7.06(b), at the end of playing acƟon the umpire shall impose such penalƟes, if any, to nullify the 
act of obstrucƟon.   
 
The decision to make in this parƟcular situaƟon is whether the obstrucƟon caused the baƩer-runner to be reƟred at 2nd 
base.  In other words, would the baƩer-runner have reached 2nd base safely if not for the obstrucƟon.   
 
The below picture shows approximately how far the baƩer-runner was out at 2nd base (admiƩedly it’s definitely easier to 
appreciate this in a photograph than it is in real Ɵme).   
 

 
 
If your judgement is that the obstrucƟon cost the baƩer-runner at least this much distance, award the baƩer-runner 2nd 
base (when the baƩer-runner is tagged out, call “Time” and award them 2nd base.  Do not call the baƩer-runner out and 
then award them the base).  
 
If your judgement is that the baƩer-runner would have been out anyway, then the out at 2nd base stands (just call the 
baƩer-runner out and leave the ball in play). 
 
If you are unsure whether the obstrucƟon caused the baƩer-runner to be reƟred, the philosophy is to err on the side of 
protecƟng the offense because the problem was caused by the defense.  Note that this is not something that is in the 
rulebook and should never be offered to a manager to explain your ruling.  If a manager requests an explanaƟon, always 
rely on rulebook terminology. 
Using rulebook terminology would be to say something like this: 
The runner was obstructed by the first baseman and I’m awarding the runner 2nd base to nullify the act of obstrucƟon. 
 
ObstrucƟon occurs much more frequently than it is called; everyone is encouraged to be alert for and announce 
obstrucƟon when it occurs during our games.   

Did the obstruction cost the runner 
this much distance? 


