
When can a Player Change Golf Balls? 
 
There is a very good article in the 2024  Nov/Dec Virginia Golfer written by Charles Rolen 
(Springfield Golf and CC member) about  when a player can change golf balls.  This is a summary 
of the article to pass on to your players. 
 
Whenever a player takes free relief or penalty relief, they are able to change golf balls during a 
round or a hole.  "When taking relief under a rule, including when either dropping or placing a 
ball, the player may use either the original ball or another ball." 
 
1.  Cart path relief 
 
2.  Embedded ball relief 
 
3.  Unplayable ball - The  player must identify the unplayable ball, but doesn't need to retrieve  
                                     it.  (The player still has to take the 1 stroke penalty). 
 
4.  Temporary Water, Ground Under Repair 
 
5.  Stroke and Distance relief  
 
Between  the play of two holes, a golfer can always replace or change golf balls. 


