



SCLC New Orleans Chapter

Post Office Box 531871, New Orleans, LA 70153-1514 EMAIL: sclcnola@gmail.com WEB: sclcnola.org TEL: (504) 315-2776

Welcome To The

SOUTHERN CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE

Metropolitan New Orleans Chapter



On February 14, 1957, at New Zion Baptist Church in the City of New Orleans, the Southern Leadership Conference on Transportation and Nonviolent Integration became the **Southern Christian Leadership** Conference (SCLC). Executive Board Members included: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., **President**; Rev. Dr. Ralph David Abernathy, **Financial Secretary-Treasurer**, Rev. Charles Kenzie Steele, Sr., **Vice President**; Rev. Theodore Judson Jemison, Secretary; and Attorney Israel Meyer Augustine, General Counsel. **SCLC New Orleans**

Chapter Presidents were: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Rev. Abraham Lincoln Davis; Rev. Dr. Simmie Lee Harvey; and Rev. Dr. Norwood Thompson, Jr.

With the motto: "Redeeming the Soul of America," the current areas of focus of the SCLC New Orleans Chapter are: education; criminal justice; economic sustainability; and healthcare. Specifically, the Chapter has aggressively engaged in Voter Engagement to include registration, education, and active participation. In addition, the Justice for Girls Committee centers around assisting young girls to reach their greatest potential.

Also, the Chapter partnered with the Peace Keepers of New Orleans to receive community engagement training. Another partnership is with the Louisiana Region of the American Red Cross, assisting with the "Sound the Alarm" Campaign which educates residents on



the importance of having an escape plan in the event of a fire and to provide free smoke detectors. We also distribute "holiday baskets" to needy people. Finally, the Chapter initiated a "keep toy guns from our children" campaign. That campaign seeks to eliminate "realistic-looking" toy guns from area stores AND homes.

INTEGRITY ♦ ACCOUNTABILITY ♦ LEADERSHIP

The Officers and Executive Committee of the SCLC New Orleans Chapter are: Dr. Levon A. LeBan, President; Catherine Carr Benjamin, Board Chair; Rev. Dr. Leon Tilton, Jr., 1st Vice President; Bishop Willie Littleton, 2nd Vice President; Honorable Rev. Dr. Glenn Green, 3rd Vice President; Jeanette Hardy Smith, Secretary; Theodore H. George, Sr., Treasurer; Jake Hardy, Parliamentarian; Florida Carr Hargrove, Rev. Adam Lee, Ronald Coleman, Gwendolyn DuPree, Alice Lewis, Rev. Dr. Ernest Marcelle, Jr., Evangelist Norma Chapman, Maria Sly George, Bernice Johnson and Bobby Pierce.

"Redeeming the Soul of America" Since 1957

EMAIL: SCLCNOLA@GMAIL.COM WEBSITE: SCLCNOLA.ORG