

Treasure Coast Regional League of Cities, Inc. January 18, 2017 at 10:30 AM Ft. Pierce, Yacht Club 700 N. Indian River Dr., Ft. Pierce, FL

Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Interim President, Mayor Linda Hudson at 10:32. Treasure Watford led the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

Self-introduction of members and guests.

The Consent agenda approval was moved by Vice President, Vice Mayor Tom Campenni and seconded by Board member, President Ann Kagdis. Approved unanimously.

Interim President, taking things out of order, presented Past President Richard Gillmor a Certificate of Appreciate and a gift as a token of our thanks for his years of service.

Interim President, Mayor Hudson gave a run down on the achievements during 2016 under then President Richard Gillmor's term in office. She mentioned the completion of the Strategic Plan, rewrite of the by-law, Scholarship award, Civic Grants to 4 cities, successes in Tallahassee during the legislative session and the formation of the Compact with Space Coast League of Cities.

Treasurer, Mayor Dowling Watford, introduced the Slate of Officers for 2017.
Mayor Hudson, (Ft. Pierce) President
Vice Mayor Campenni, (Stuart) Vice President
Alderman Ingrid Van Hekken, (St. Lucie Village), Secretary
Commissioner Vinny Barile, (Sewalls Point) Treasurer

He asked for nominations from the floor, there were none. A motion was made by Treasurer Watford, seconded by Board Member Kagdis. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. John Messer, City Attorney of Ft. Pierce, installed the officers for 2017, with the Oath of Office.

President, Mayor Hudson presented Certificates of Achievement to outgoing Board Members, Jay Kramer, Earlene Cairnes, Dowling Watford, Linda Bartz, and Tom Slater, (not present, will have his mailed to him).

President, Mayor Hudson, asked for someone to volunteer to be on the Nominating Committee for Florida League of Cities. The person needs to attend the August 18

meeting. Vice Mayor Tom Campenni nominated Mayor Linda Hudson, Commissioner Vinny Barile seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

President, Mayor Hudson appointed members to the Nominating Committee, Budget Committee, By-Law and Scholarship committees.

Nominating Committee appointments will be made later in the year.

Scholarship Committee, Mayor Karen Ostrand, Vice Mayor Tom Campenni, Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo and Commissioner Vinny Barile. Chair to be determined.

By-Law Committee, Councilman Robert Gibbons, Councilman Gary Ritter, Chaired by Vice Mayor Tom Campenni.

Budget Committee, Vice Mayor Tom Campenni, President Ann Kagdis, chaired by Commissioner Vinny Barile. Mayor Hudson is ex-efficio.

Florida League of Cities President, Mayor Susan Haynie gave the keynote address on Safe Cities, Safe Florida.

Reports were given:

Executive Directors Report – Patricia Christensen

Florida League of Cities Report - District 9 Representative, Commissioner Thomas Campenni

Treasure Coast Advocacy Team - President Kagdis

Treasure Coast Council of Local Government Report – Commissioner Thomas Campenni

Associate Member Announcements

Adjournment for lunch at 12:04

Minutes respectfully submitted
Ingrid Van Hekken, Secretary - January 19, 2017