Treasure Coast Regional League of Cities, Inc. March 21, 2018 at 9:30 AM St. Lucie County Chamber of Commerce Office

Minutes

Board Members attending: Mayor Linda Hudson, Vice President Ann Kagdis, Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo, Mayor Joel Tyson, Councilman Bob McPartlan, Alderman Ingrid Van Hekken, Commissioner Nick Blount, Mayor Susan Thomas, Councilman Robert Auwaerter, Commissioner Vinny Barile and Councilwoman Michele Henry as alternate to Councilman Robert Gibbons.

Board Members absent, excused: Councilman Gary Ritter and Councilman Anthony Young.

The meeting was called to order by President, Mayor Linda Hudson at 9:35 am.

Mayor Hudson led the Pledge of Allegiance, invocation led by Mayor Tyson.

Self-introduction of members and guests.

In place of the Mayor's Report, an ice breaker was held, to allow the Board to become better familiar with each other.

Consent Agenda: A motion to approve the Consent Agenda was made by Mayor Joel Tyson, seconded by Vice Mayor Ann Kagdis and approved unanimously.

President's Report: See Above

Special Presentation: Tom Kindred from the IRSC Small Business Development Center gave a presentation of the services the SBDC offers to small business and those looking to start a small business.

Resolutions: None

New Business

8a. Selection of Scholarship Recipient

Ratification was made for the selection of Onese Rene, the scholarship applicant chosen to receive the 2018 TCRLC Scholarship. Motion made by Vice President Ann Kagdis, seconded by Commissioner Nick Blount passed unanimously.

8b. Appointments to the By-law Committee

Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo, Commissioner Vinny Barile and Vice President Ann Kagdis. Mayor Linda Hudson will be Ex-Aficio.

8c. Appointment to Budget Committee

Commissioner Vinny Barile will serve as chair per the by-laws. Mayor Susan Thomas and Commissioner Nick Blount will also serve. Mayor Linda Hudson will be Ex-Aficio.

8d. Appointments to the Nominating Committee

Mayor Joel Tyson, Alternated Michele Henry and Alderman Ingrid Van Hekken will serve on the nominating committee.

Anyone interested in representing the Treasure Coast on the FLC Board, please submit a letter of interest by the end of June, to be considered for appointment and Board Election in August.

8e. IEMO Certificate Award – delayed to May Membership Lunch.

8f. Approval of IEMO Grant

A motion was made by Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo and seconded by Councilman Bob McPartlan to reimburse the Town of St Lucie Village for sending Alderman Ingrid Van Hekken to IEMO. Passed unanimously.

9. Unfinished Business: Meeting Time: It was determined that 10 am would be a better time to start the meeting for some member's convenience and since the Chamber only opens at 9 AM, to set up, it's rushed. New time will begin in June.

Executive Directors Report: May Legislative Wrap-up Luncheon, Social Median Workshop, FLC Conference

Florida League of Cities: Vice President Kagdis reported that she will be attending the Board meeting in June. She also reported on FEMA.

There was a brief discussion on FEMA reimbursements. Councilman Auwaerter suggested a letter to the Governor. Mayor Hudson and Councilwoman Caraballo will be meeting with Nicole Fogarty on the subject.

Treasure Coast Advocacy Team: ED Christensen reported their will be a training in June and that Councilwoman Clark of Indiantown will join the team.

Treasure Coast Council of Local Government Report: Discussion on School Safety.

Associate Member Announcements:

Abby Johnson from St. Johns Water Management District spoke cost share requirements.

Member Announcements:

Mayor Hudson reported that she was named the 2018 IRSC Alumni of the Year

Alderman Van Hekken asked about the CRC Ballot Amendments. Brief discussion, more information will be forthcoming from FLC.

Meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted,
