Jon Niermann, *Chairman* Emily Lindley, *Commissioner* Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner* Toby Baker, *Executive Director* 



# TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

August 19, 2022

TO: All Persons on Mailing List

RE: SOAH Docket No. 582-20-1895; TCEQ Docket No. 2019-1156-IWD; Application of **Port of Corpus Christi Authority of Nueces County**, for Proposed Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. WQ0005253000, in Nueces County, Texas.

The above-referenced matter is scheduled to be considered by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality on **September 7**, **2022** at **9:30 A.M.** in Room 201S, Building E, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas. Due to the ongoing pandemic, the agenda meeting may be held in person in Room 201S of Building E at the Commission's offices located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas, virtually, or both in person and virtually. To confirm how the meeting will be held, please visit the Commissioners' Agenda webpage at: <a href="https://www.tceq.texas.gov/agency/decisions/agendas/comm/comm\_agendas.html">https://www.tceq.texas.gov/agency/decisions/agendas/comm/comm\_agendas.html</a> eight days before the Agenda.

# 30 TAC § 80.263 provides as follows:

In proceedings where a judge has held a public hearing and has issued a proposal for decision or other report to the commission, all oral presentations before the commission shall be limited to five minutes each, excluding time for answering questions, unless the chairman or general counsel establishes other limitations. Before the commission meeting, the general counsel may allot time for oral presentations. Oral presentations and responses to questions shall be directed to the commission.

The General Counsel has directed me to extend the time for oral argument to **twelve (12) minutes** for the Applicant, **twelve (12) minutes** for the Protestants collectively, **eight (8) minutes** for the Executive Director; and **eight (8) minutes** for the Office of Public Interest Counsel. The Protestants should apportion their **twelve (12) minutes** among themselves prior to the public meeting and contact Mehgan Taack, Office of the Chief Clerk at (512) 239-3313 by **5:00 p.m.** on **Friday, September 2, 2022**, to let her know how the time will be apportioned. The Applicant may save part of its time for rebuttal, as it bears the burden of proof. Parties should present their arguments on the Proposal for Decision during their allotted oral argument time.

Furthermore, if the Commissioners need additional information, they may ask questions of the parties after oral argument is completed. In light of the oral argument time periods previously found sufficient in complex matters and given the Commissioners' ability to question the parties to clarify any issues, the General Counsel has determined that the time periods provided should be sufficient.

Should you need any additional information, please contact Mehgan Taack at the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Office of the Chief Clerk, (512) 239-3300.

Sincerely,

Laurie Gharis
Chief Clerk

# MAILING LIST PORT OF CORPUS CHRISTI AUTHORITY OF NUECES COUNTY SOAH DOCKET NO. 582-20-1895 TCEQ DOCKET NO. 2019-1156-IWD

# Representing Port of Corpus Christi Authority of Nueces County

Debra Baker,
Earnest W. Wotring, John Muir, Douglas
Allison, and
Amanda Guerrero
dbaker@bakerwotring.com
ewotring@bakerwotring.com
jmuir@bakerwotring.com
doug@dallisonlaw.com
aguerrero@bakerworting.com

## **Representing the City of Port Aransas**

Emily Rogers and Bill Dugat, III <a href="mailto:erogers@bickerstaff.com">erogers@bickerstaff.com</a>
bdugat@bickerstaff.com

## Representing Port Aransas Conservancy

Kirk D. Rasmussen, Benjamin Rhem, Craig R. Bennet, Susan Ayers, Eric Allmon and Lauren Ice krasmussen@jw.com brhem@jw.com cbennett@jw.com sayers@jw.com

Representing Port Aransas
Conservancy, Mary Anderson Abell,
Jack Guenther, Sr., Jack Guenther, Jr.,
Valerie Guenther, Bill Johnson, Kathy
Mays Johnson, James Harrison King,
Tammy King, Edward Steves, Nancy
Steves, Sam Steves, and Sarah Steves

Richard Lowerre, David Frederick, Eric Allmon, Lauren Ice, and John Bedecarre rl@lf-lawfirm.com dof@lf-lawfirm.com eallmon@txenvirolaw.com lauren@txenvirolaw.com johnb@txenvirolaw.com

#### **Audubon Texas**

Scott Moorhead <u>scott.moorhead@audubon.org</u>

#### **Individual Protestants**

Phillip Bartlett pvb@srcaccess.net

Stacey Bartlett ssbartlett1129@gmail.com

Margo Branscomb mbranscomb@gmail.com

Cara Denney cara@ibilky.com

Aldo Dyer aldo.dyer@gmail.com

Barney Farley bc13farley@gmail.com

Mark Grosse markgrosse1972@gmail.com

Jo Krueger jkrueger22@gmail.com

Cameron Pratt campratt@gmail.com

Sarah Searight <a href="mailto:sarahsearight@me.com">sarahsearight@me.com</a>

Lisa Turcotte lisaturcotte55@gmail.com

Susan Simpson 413 Trojan Street, Unit 4 Port Aransas, Texas 78373

# Representing the Executive Director of the TCEQ

Kathy Humphreys, Bobby Salehi, and Harrison "Cole" Malley bobby.salehi@tceq.texas.gov kathy.humphreys@tceq.texas.gov harrison.malley@tceq.texas.gov

# Representing the Office of Public Interest Counsel of the TCEQ

Jennifer Jamison, Attorney jennifer.jamison@tceq.texas.gov

# **State Office of Administrative Hearings**

The Honorable Rebecca Smith
The Honorable Cassandra Quinn
<a href="http://www.soah.texas.gov/E-services/eFileTexas.html">http://www.soah.texas.gov/E-services/eFileTexas.html</a>

# **Courtesy Copy**

The Honorable Lois Kolkhorst lois.kolkhorst@senate.texas.gov