Westmoreland New Hampshire

Unapproved Recreation Committee Minutes

April 29th 2025

Susan Harris - Meeting called to order at 605pm

In attendance:

Susan Harris - Chair, Nancy Hillier, Chathrine Mathews, Alan Bell, Emily Allen

Susan told the committee that after talks with the Board of Selectmen that WYSI would not be folded into the committee, and they should continue as a separate organization. Much discussion was had over the way other towns handled sports and ran them through recreation committees. Emily said the current WYSI organization non-profit status would be dissolved by the end of 2025. Much of the discussion centered around the idea that WYSI should be part of the Recreation Committee and why it wasn't feasible. We as a group decided that another meeting in with the select board where all of us could be involved would be a good idea.

Susan talked about the need for WYSI coaches to be background checked if they were going to be using the town or school property and remain insured by the town. Emily said that Sports Engine should be able to provide those verifications.

Currently Susan is applying for several grants which do not require matching funds.

We talked about the 10K warrant article and that there was a mix up about the trust account which does not in fact exist or is not documented in a manner that anyone could verify. This means that the money allotted for the Committee is not going to be available until after next year and will be put in front of the town again.

Jodi Scanlon was nice enough to draft a new set of bylaws for the committee which we decided to utilize without ratification. It was unanimously adopted by the group. The Recreation Committee bylaws can be found of the town website dated April 29th, 2025.

Officer Elections were held, and Susan was elected chair, with Nancy elected as secretary.

We discussed some of the Master Plan Survey results as they pertain to Recreation. Open spaces, river access and trails were high on the list of items the townspeople would like to have supported.

The official Committee member list is as follows after the new bylaws were drafted

Susan Harris -Chair

Nancy Hillier – Secretary

Alan Bell

David Bressett

Cathrine Mathews - WYSI ex-officio

Jason Simeno

Emily Allen – Potential Alt

Justin Cox - Potential Alt - Alan to follow up

Meeting adjourned at 627pm.

Minutes taken by Alan Bell