

Nixon City Council Minutes for 8.15.2022 Meeting/Budget Workshop

The Council of the City of Nixon met on the 15th day of August 2022 at 5:00PM in the Council chambers at City Hall 302 E Central Ave Nixon, TX 78140.

Motion was made by MaryAnn Fatheree and seconded by Rene Amaya to recess. Motion carried 3-0

Members present were: MaryAnn Fatheree, Rene Amaya, Maggie Gaytan, and Justin La Fleur. Also present were Harold Rice, Tanya Torres, Chief Mike Cantu, Jeremy Bustos, Don Finch and Gladyne Finch. Mayor Dorothy Riojas was not present. Ellie Dominguez arrived at 5:25pm.

Quorum was declared present and meeting was called to order by Mayor Pro-Tem Justin LaFleur at 5:27pm.

Prayer was given by Rene Amaya and the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America and the State of Texas were recited.

Gladyne Finch spoke about street that needed attention in the City during Citizens participation.

Motion was made by Ellie Dominguez and seconded by MaryAnn Fatheree to propose the rate that is on the rate paper, not to exceed the rate for an election. Motion carried 5-0

Motion was made by Ellie Dominguez and Rene Amaya to allow Vendor Food Trucks to sell Monday thru Saturday 6pm to 11pm at the Post Office Parking Lot for \$10.00 a night. Motion carried 5-0

No action needed on any necessary 2021-2022 budget amendments pursuant to items listed on the current agenda.

Budget workshop began.

Motion was made by Ellie Dominguez and seconded by MaryAnn Fatheree to purchase Dell computers and monitors for the City of Nixon Public Library, Motion carried 5-0

Council came out of Regular session at 6:25pm and went into Executive Session at 6:26pm.

Council came out of Executive session at 7:41pm and went into regular session at 7:42pm.

Motion was made by Justin LaFleur and seconded by Maggie Gaytan to discontinue the pick-up of rubbish and or brush effective October 1, 2022, expect for the elderly 65 years of age or older. Motion carried 5-0

Motion was made by Maggie Gaytan and seconded by Ellie Dominguez to adjourn. Motion carried 5-0

Motion was made by Justin La Fleur and seconded by Rene Amaya to adjourn. Motion carried 5-0	
	 Alderman, Maggie Gaytan
	Alderman, Maggie Gaytan
Alderman, Justin La Fleur	Alderman, Rene Amaya
Alderman, Ellie Dominguez	Alderman, MaryAnn Fatheree
Attest:	
Tanya Torres City of Nixon Secretary	