

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Required Tour Attire: Trousers and flat, closed-toe shoes

Argonne point of contact: Angie McKay, email: amckay@anl.gov; cell: (815) 685-3652

Breakfast on own at hotel

7:30 a.m. Meet in lobby, transport to Argonne via Argonne and hotel vans

7:45 a.m. Arrival at Argonne Main Gate

8:00 a.m. Cohort think piece working sessions

Location: Building 241, Rooms D172, D173, D286

12:00 p.m. Lunch on own

Location: Bistro cafe', Bldg. 213

Cohort walks to Bistro cafe' for lunch.

1:00 p.m. Laboratory Overview and Discussion

Location: Building 241, Room D172

Paul Kearns, Laboratory Director

2:00 p.m. Laboratory Strategic Planning

Location: Building 241, Room D172

Greg Morin, Director of Strategy and Risk

2:45 p.m. Transport to building 401 via Argonne bus



3:00 p.m. Advanced Photon Source Upgrade Project

Location: Building 401, Room A5000

Stephen Streiffer, Associate Laboratory Director, Photon Sciences

4:00 p.m. Tour: Advanced Photon Source and Center for Nanoscale Materials

Stephen Streiffer, Associate Laboratory Director, Photon Sciences Katie Gregar, Associate Division Director, Nanoscience & Technology Division

5:15 p.m. Departure

Transport to Burr Ridge Marriott via Argonne and hotel vans

6:30 p.m. Dinner with select members of laboratory leadership

Hampton Social Club

Megan Clifford, Chief of Staff
Supratik Guha, Senior Scientific Advisor
Paul Kearns, Laboratory Director
Stephen Streiffer, Associate Laboratory Director, Photon Sciences
Suresh Sunderrajan, Associate Laboratory Director, Energy and Global Security

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Required Tour Attire: Trousers and flat, closed-toe shoes

Argonne point of contact: Angie McKay, email: amckay@anl.gov; cell: (815) 685-3652

7:45 a.m. Meet in lobby, transport to Argonne via Argonne and hotel vans

8:00 a.m. Continental breakfast

Location: Building 203, Room D120

9:00 a.m. Diversity and Inclusion at Argonne

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Philip Anderson, Director, Argonne Leadership Institute Jim Bluemond, Manager, Talent Acquisition

10:00 a.m. Coffee break

10:15 a.m. Laboratory Oversight: DOE perspective

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Joanna Livengood, Argonne Site Office Manager



11:30 a.m. Lunch (with select members of laboratory leadership to discuss think pieces)

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Stu Hannay, Chief Information Officer and Senior Director, Business Information Services Karen Hellman, Senior Director, Infrastructure Services

Paul Kearns, Laboratory Director

Ushma Kriplani, Associate Laboratory Director, Science and Technology Partnerships & Outreach

Julie Nuter, Chief Human Resources Officer

Suresh Sunderrajan, Associate Laboratory Director, Energy and Global Security

12:45 p.m. OSELP Alumni Discussion

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Seth Darling, Director, Center for Molecular Engineering

1:30 p.m. Improving How we Work

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Devin Hodge, Chief Operations Officer, Computing, Environment and Life Sciences

2:30 p.m. Refreshment break

2:45 p.m. Argonne Core Values

Location: Building 203, Room D120

Megan Clifford, Chief of Staff

3:45 p.m. Depart for Materials Engineering Research Facility (MERF)

4:00 p.m. MERF discussion and tour

Location: Building 370

Greg Krumdick, Director, Applied Materials Division

5:00 p.m. Transport to Nuclear Energy Exhibit

Location: Building 208

5:15 p.m. Nuclear Energy Exhibit Overview

Location: Building 208

Matt Bucknor, Principal Nuclear Safety/Risk Analyst

5:30 p.m. Reception with select members of laboratory leadership

Location: Building 208

7:00 p.m. Departure

Transport to Burr Ridge Marriott via Argonne and hotel vans



Friday, September 20, 2019

Required Tour Attire: Trousers and flat, closed-toe shoes

Argonne point of contact: Angie McKay, email: amckay@anl.gov; cell: (815) 685-3652

7:30 a.m. Check-out of hotel, meet in lobby, transport to Argonne via Argonne and hotel vans

8:00 a.m. Continental breakfast

Location: Building 241, Room D172

8:30 a.m. Laboratory Performance Management

Location: Building 241, Room D172

Kim Sawyer, Chief Operations Officer

9:30 a.m. Energy storage, battery research and Electrochemical Discovery Laboratory tour

Location: Building 241, Room D172

Venkat Srinivasan, Director, Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science

10:30 a.m. Coffee break

10:45 a.m. Strategy for Financial Modeling at the Labs

Location: Building 241, Room D172

Tim Knewitz, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Director of Financial Management and Procurement Services

11:45 a.m. Walk to building 240

12:00 p.m. Lunch (discussion with select Argonne employees)

Location: Building 240, Room 1404-1405

Stacey Adamson, Financial Analyst Leader, Financial Management and Procurement Services

Jessica McChesney, Physicist, X-ray Sciences Division

Todd Munson, Computational Scientist, Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Vivian Sullivan, LDRD Program Manager, Office of the Director Lee Zachos, Laboratory Partnership and Outreach Manager

1:15 p.m. Exascale Computing

Location: Building 240, Room 1404-1405

Rick Stevens, Associate Laboratory Director, Computing, Environment and Life Sciences

2:15 p.m. Argonne Leadership Computing Facility Tour

Rick Stevens, Associate Laboratory Director, Computing, Environment and Life Sciences

2:45 p.m. Departure