MINUTES

OF THE

BIG SANDY AREA DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING COMMITTEE REGULAR MEETING

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Members in Attendance

Garry McClure, Johnson County DES, Chair Mark McKenzie, Johnson County Judge/Executive Matt Wireman, Magoffin County Judge Executive Pete Shepherd, Mayor of Salyersville Dewey Bocook, Johnson County Ronnie Warrix, Martin County Bill Mike Runyon, Mayor of Paintsville Les Stapleton, Mayor of Prestonsburg David Ellis, Floyd County Steve Little, Floyd County Steve Goble, Martin County Deputy Judge Executive Reggie Hickman, Pike County Deputy Judge Executive Fabian Little, Pike County Road Supervisor Steve Jones, Bicycle/Pedestrian Representative Mary Westfall Holbrook, KYTC HDO 12 Charlie Dale, KYTC HDO 12 Jason Blackburn, KYTC HDO 10 Barry Davis, Big Sandy ADD

Guests in Attendance

Eunice Holland, Kentucky River ADD Cliff Latta, Floyd County Sharon May, Big Sandy ADD Brenda Powers, Big Sandy ADD Ben Hale, Big Sandy ADD Joe Jacobs, Big Sandy ADD Adam Rice, Congressman Hal Rogers' Office Joyce Hinkle, Sandy Valley Transportation Coty Blankenship, Appalachian News Express

Call to Order

Chairman Gary McClure called the meeting to order at 10:02 AM.

Approval of Minutes

Mayor Stapleton moved that the minutes of the November 26th meeting be approved. Mayor Shepherd seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Guest Presentation

Joyce Hinkle, director of Sandy Valley Transportation, gave a presentation on her organization and answered questions from the committee.

Project Updates and Concerns

2020 Recommended Highway Plan

Barry Davis, BSADD, distributed copies of projects in each individual county in the BSADD's five county districts for review and the committee discussed the recommended highway plan. The committee was also updated on and discussed Senate Bill 4 which involves a potential reorganization of the transportation cabinet as well as discussing the pending gas tax bill currently being debated in the Kentucky Legislative session.

District 12 (Floyd, Johnson, Martin, and Pike Counties)

Charlie Dale, HDO 12, updated the Committee on current and future projects in District 12 and answered questions.

District 10 (Magoffin County)

Jason Blackburn, HDO 10 updated the Committee on current and future projects in District 10 and answered questions.

Next Meeting Date

In accordance with Plan for Committee Meetings and Activities, the next regular meeting of the BSADD RTC will be May 26, 2020 at 10:00 AM, at the BSADD.

Adjournment

<u>Judge Executive McKenzie moved that the meeting be adjourned</u>. <u>Member Dewey Bocook seconded</u> <u>the motion and the motion carried</u>.