WHEREAS, the Long-Term Care workforce continues to provide challenges with fewer caregivers entering the workforce, continued growth in the demand for caregivers and the need to retain existing staff; and, WHEREAS, recruitment efforts, external market comparisons and internal pay comparisons are causing the need to modify the current pay scale; and, WHEREAS, the Executive Director of Long-Term Care, along with the Human Resources Director and County Administrator are recommending the current HCS pay scale be modified as follows: eliminate step 1 of HCS00 and add a step at the top to still maintain seven steps; and eliminate pay range HCS01 and move Resident Care Assistants – Non Certified to HCS02; and, NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the La Crosse County Board approves the recommended modifications to the HCS pay scale attached effective January 20, 2020. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Human Resources and Finance Departments are authorized to take the necessary actions to make the approved modifications. FISCAL NOTE: The cost of the modifications of the HCS pay scale to existing employees, including WRS, FICA and Medicare are approximately \$92,300. There are approximately 158 employees impacted.

## **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Motion by M. Kruse/T. Tryggestad to approve passed on a unanimous voice vote with 26 ayes, 3 excused - R. Cornforth, S. Doyle and A. Richmond.

## RESOLUTION NO. 38-11/19 RE: COMPENSATION FOR LA CROSSE COUNTY BOARD 2020-2022 TERM

WHEREAS, La Crosse County is a self-organized County pursuant to s. 59.10(1), Wis. Statutes and s. 2.01 (1)(a) of the General Code of La Crosse County; and, WHEREAS, the method of compensation of County Board Supervisors shall be determined by the County Board by resolution prior to the earliest time for filing nomination papers; and, WHEREAS, the current compensation of County Board Supervisors is \$417 per month; and, WHEREAS, the current compensation of the County Board Chair is \$1289 per month; and, WHEREAS, the Executive Committee has reviewed the current rates and the past 10 year history of La Crosse County Board Supervisor compensation, NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the compensation for the County Board of Supervisors increase to \$700 per month for the next two-year term commencing April 21, 2020. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that compensation for the 1st and 2nd Vice Chair be established at \$1400 per month for the next two-year term commencing April 21, 2020. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the County Board Chair monthly compensation increase to \$2800 per month for the next two-year term commencing April 21, 2020. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the County Administrator, Finance Director and Human Resources Director shall take all necessary steps to carry out the intent of this resolution. FISCAL NOTE: The total annual compensation for the fiscal year of 2020 for County Board Supervisors, 1st and 2nd Vice Chair and for the County Board Chair is approximately \$268,576.

## **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

**Motion** by M. Kruse/S. Hampson to approve. Discussion ensued. Administrator O'Malley and Corporation Counsel Megan DeVore responded to questions from the Board. **Motion** by R. Ebert/K. Hoyer to amend by changing the Supervisor pay to \$500/month, Executive Committee Members to \$550/month, 1st and 2nd Vice Chairs to \$600/month and the Board Chair to \$2,000/month. **Motion** by R. Geary/R. Ebert to amend the Ebert amendment by changing the Board Chair pay to \$2,200/month failed on a voice vote with 14 nays. 13 ayes – P. Barlow, V. Burke, R. Ebert, D. Ferries, R. Geary, M. Giese, J. Gundersen, D. Hesse, K. Hoyer, M. Nikolay, R. Plesha, P. Scheller and I. Tahiri, 2 excused - R. Cornforth and S. Doyle. Chair Johnson yielded the chair to 1st Vice Chair M. Kruse **The motion to amend** failed on a roll call vote with 17 nays, 10 ayes - V. Burke, R. Ebert, D. Ferries, R. Geary, J. Gundersen, D. Hesse, K. Hoyer, M. Nikolay, R. Plesha and I. Tahiri, 2 excused - R. Cornforth and S. Doyle. **The motion to approve** passed on a roll call vote with 18 ayes, 9 nays - V. Burke, R. Ebert, D. Ferries, R. Geary, J. Gundersen, D. Hesse, K. Hoyer, M. Nikolay and R. Plesha, 2 excused - R. Cornforth and S. Doyle. **Chair Change**: Chair Johnson resumed the Chair.