Government of the District of Columbia ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 7E

Marshall Heights • Benning Ridge • Capitol View • Fort Davis

7E01 – Veda Rasheed

7E02 – Tiera Fletcher

7E03 - Vacant

7E04 - Natasha Dupee

7E05 – Sharon Jafari

7E06 - Delia Houseal

7E07- Kim Martin

Jemila Kia James- Executive Assistant



P.O. Box,10307 Washington, D.C. 20020 <u>7E@anc.dc.gov</u> <u>www.anc7e.us</u> Twitter: @ANC7E

Resolution # ANC 7E 21- 03 Support for School Based Mental Health Program

WHEREAS; Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 7E has long been committed to improved access to programs that support the mental health and well-being of our children and families;

WHEREAS; The COVID-19 pandemic has disproportionately impacted Black residents' rates of mortality, vaccination, and other factors concerning the quality of life for a household. Comprising less than half of the DC population, Black residents represent 80% of COVID-19 deathsⁱ. Ward 7 students—representing household that are 92% Black residents, 23% living below the poverty line, and a rate of 16% unemploymentⁱⁱ—have great proximity to this trauma and toxic stress. The sense of urgency to adjust outcomes for Ward 7 residents is compoundedⁱⁱⁱr by the community health needs that existed prior to the current health emergency^{iv} and impact a vaccination rate one-half to two-thirds lower than wards west of the Anacostia River^v.

WHEREAS; ANC 7E recognizes that equitably funding and allocating programmatic resources for youth and families in Ward 7—home to 29 DC Public and Charter Schools—is critical to continue to serve the mental health needs of students, teachers and families;

WHEREAS; The Department of Behavioral Health's School Based Mental Health Program (SBMHP) contracts with Community Based Organizations (CBOs) to place mental health professionals in all DC Public and Charter Schools, using a tiered system based on need and coordinated by the School Based Mental Health Coordinating Committee;

WHEREAS; The SBMHP is currently supporting mental health professionals in 154 schools District-wide, and there are 80 schools remaining in the final expansion of the program to get at least one mental health professional in every DC Public and Charter School^{vi}; and,

WHEREAS, There are currently 34 mental health professionals in Ward 7 schools. In 20 of these schools one mental health professional is solely responsible for their entire student population; KIPP DC Key Public Charter School and SEED Public Charter School do not have a mental health professional^{vii}.

WHEREAS; The Department of Behavioral Health received large cuts to its overall funding in FY2021 decreasing its ability to effectively administer programs like the SBMHP;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT: ANC 7E strongly encourages efforts to ensure equitable and comprehensive school-based mental health programs across the District that offer preventative and treatment services to children and include supports for families and school staff;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: ANC 7E requests that the Council allocate \$6.4 million in the FY 22 budget to fund the expansion of the Department of Behavioral Health (DBH) school-based mental health services in the funds will support the inclusion of school-based mental health services in 80 additional schools across the city, full implementation of this program in 2022, as well as evaluation and quality improvement activities ix.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that ANC 7E respectfully requests that the FY 22 budget includes the restoration of \$4 million cuts to community-based providers from FY21, especially the \$2 million matched with a federal multiplier of three and would add an additional \$5 million to allow DBH and other Community based organizations to equitably administer the critical supports our community needs.

ADOPTED by vote at a regular public meeting, notice of which was properly

given, and at which a quorum of __6__ the members were present on March 9th 2021, by a vote of 6 yes, and 0 no.

Resolution Attested by:

ANC 7E Commission Chair

Tiera Fletcher

ANC 7E04 Commissioner

Natasha Dupee

Natasha Dupee

CC:

Mayor Muriel Bowser Deputy Mayor of Education Paul Kihn Director Barbara J. Bazron, PhD, Department of Behavioral Health Phil Mendelson, Chairman DC Council
Vincent Gray, Councilmember, Ward 7
Anita Bonds, Councilmember At-Large
Christina Henderson, Councilmember At-Large
Robert White, Councilmember At-Large
Elissa Silverman, Councilmember At-Large
Eboni-Rose Thompson, State Board of Education Representative, Ward 7
Jacques Patterson, State Board of Education Representative At-Large