The Twelfth Annual USAW-RI Scholarship Fund and USAW-RI Daniel Paiva Scholarship

Instructions for filing:

All information requested must be supplied by the applicant. Any forms requiring signatures must be signed.

Applications must include:

Required essay legibly written or typed. Completed application form.

Applicants must submit application form and related material to:

USAW-RI Scholarship Committee 90 Printery St. Providence, RI 02904

Applications and material submitted are treated as confidential. The deadline for applying is <u>March 31, 2021</u>. Must be received by 5:00 P.M.

Apply between January 1 and March 31, 2021.

Review of applications will be during the month of April.

Awards will be made at the May 25 union meeting for the next academic year, but alternate arrangements may be made if necessary.

Rules and Regulations & Qualifications

Applicants must be USAW members or child of USAW member (under age of 24).

Students must be enrolled in a degree granting institution and credit classes, and the award may be used only for post-secondary education at a community college, college, university, or accredited trade school. (Rule change approved in April 2016)

Students must be enrolled at least halftime.

Student must be USAW member or child of a USAW member at time of award.

Rule change approved in November 2010: to prohibit scholarship winners from entering and winning again

Checks will be made payable to the individual.

Please note: We will be publicizing the winners of the scholarships.

Process for Decision Making

A committee of at least three USAW members in good standing will choose the winner(s) of the scholarship. (Rule change April 2016)

The essay will be judged based on form and content.

There will be up to three \$1000 and/or two \$1000 and one \$1500 scholarships awarded (increase from three to four approved 2-3-15 with further amendments 3-28-17 and 4-25-17 to allow the committee at its discretion to award one \$1500 scholarship after Daniel Paiva to an exceptional candidate and rename the 4th scholarship after Mark Baumer with different criteria).