## Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District Board Meeting

## Minutes

Wednesday, January 31, 2018---2:00 p.m. Bee Cave City Hall, 4000 Galleria Pkwy, Bee Cave, TX 78738

Temporary Board Members present:

Richard (Rick) Scadden, Jim Dower, Tricia Davis, John O'Malia, Jason Buddin, Jim Urie, Jim Ross (arrived at 2:15 PM)

## Additional Attendees:

Rep. Paul Workman; Sen. Dawn Buckingham; Travis County Commissioner Gerald Daugherty; Jon White – Travis County TNR NREQ; Vicky Kennedy – Travis County Development Services; Peter Einhorn, Travis County Judge's office; Don Barber - Rep. Workman's office; Wilson Adams – Sen Buckingham's office, Bob Moore – Comm. Daugherty's office, Tom Nuckols – Travis County Attorney, Ron Fieseler – Blanco-Pedernales GCD

- Temporary Directors completed the required oaths of office, were sworn in, and completed statement of officer forms prior to convening the meeting
- Called to order by Representative Paul Workman at 2:04 PM
- Without objection the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District adopted an address of PO BOX 340595 Austin, TX 78734
- Without objection the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation
   District adopted a temporary office located in the Travis County Precinct 3 Building located at 8656 B Hwy 71 West, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Austin, TX 78735
- Without objection the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation
   District designated Jon White Division Director for Natural Resources and
   Environmental Quality from Travis County Transportation and Natural Resources as
   the district's temporary point of contact. Jon White can be reached at 512-854-7212
   or jon.white@traviscountytx.gov
- Without objection the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District designated a website URL of www.swtcqcd.org
- Introductions by Temporary board members
- The Board of the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District took up the matter of electing officers:

## Discussions and Motions:

Nominations for President of the Board of the SWTCGCD:

Nominee 1: Rick Scadden Moved: John O'Malia

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Urie

By unanimous vote, Rick Scadden was elected President of the Board of the SWTCGCD

Nominations for Vice President of the Board of the SWTCGCD:

Nominee 1: Tricia Davis Moved: Tricia Davis

2<sup>nd</sup>: Buddin

Nominee 2: John O'Malia Moved: Rick Scadden

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Urie

By Consensus Tricia Davis was elected Vice President of the Board of the SWTCGCD

After discussion of combining the position of Secretary/Treasurer, by unanimous vote the positions and Secretary and Treasurer were combined.

Moved: Jason Buddin

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Dower

Nominations for Secretary/Treasurer of the Board of the SWTC GCD:

Nominee 1: John O'Malia Moved: Rick Scadden

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Urie

Mr. O'Malia declined the nomination

Nominee 2: Jason Buddin

Moved: Jim Urie 2<sup>nd</sup>: John O'Malia

By unanimous vote, Jason Buddin was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the Board of the SWTCGCD.

 The Board of the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District took up the matter of designating rules and procedures. Ron Fieseler presented background information on the Roberts Rules of Order.

Motion: Adopt Roberts Rules of Order as the official rules of parliamentary procedure for the Board of the SWTCGCD, allow individuals a maximum of 3 minutes in testimony before the Board, allow an individual speaking on behalf of a group of 5 or greater 5 minutes to speak before the Board, allow for Public Communications to be placed on the agenda of all Board Meetings of the SWTCGCD.

Moved: Tricia Davis 2<sup>nd</sup>: Jason Buddin

- The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.
- Rep. Workman gave a summary of the legislation creating the SWTCGCD including the boundary lines, future elections, and history of the efforts to pass the legislation.
- We also discussed information from Jon White about the numbers of wells in the District and the potential annual revenue to the SWTCGCD
- Motion: To order an election creating the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District and election of permanent Board members in the May 2018 uniform election.

Moved: Tricia Davis 2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Dower

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

- We discussed the cost of participating in the election
- Motion: To authorize the President of the Board to send a letter to the Travis County Clerk requesting the County to administer the SWTCGCD election as part of the May 2018 uniform election, and a letter to the Travis County Judge requesting the Travis County Commissioners Court pay the SWTCGCD's portion of the May 2018 uniform election.

Moved: Jim O'Malia 2<sup>nd</sup>: Tricia Davis

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote with Director Urie temporarily off the Dais.

• Motion: To ask the Travis County Clerk use ballot language in accordance with Chapter 36 (36.017 (d)) of the Texas Water Code for the ballot language for the

creation of the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District, and to further use ballot language in accordance with HB 4345 from the 85<sup>th</sup> Regular Session for the election of directors. The proposed wording for the ballot is: "The creation of the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District" Moved: Jim Dower

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jim Urie

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

- Without objection the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation
  District Board designated a non-quorum working group with directors Rick Scadden,
  Jason Buddin, and Jim Urie to meet on a more frequent basis and bring issues and
  recommendations for the full board's consideration and approval in a manner that is
  consistent with the Texas Open Meetings Act.
- Discussion of training on the open meeting act available on the Texas Attorney General's website.
- Next meeting date and location

February 8, 2018, 1:30 p.m., Bee Cave City Hall, 4000 Galleria Pkwy, Bee Cave, TX 78738.

• Adjournment: the meeting was adjourned at 3:59 p.m. by consensus.