

2024 LEGISLATOR AWARDS September 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Randall Pullen Phone: 602-524-2241

Email:ACPAACRandy@gmail.com

Recognizing Conservative Leadership

ACPA Action Committee recognizes the following legislators who earned top scores by advancing policies promoting fiscal responsibility, educational excellence, electoral integrity, and the health and safety of Arizonans.

- Senator Frank Carroll (LD28)
- Senator David Gowan (LD19)
- Senator Janae Shamp (LD29)
- Senator Shawnna Bolick (LD2)
- Representative Leo Biasiucci (LD30)
- Representative Neal Carter (LD15)
- Representative Michael Carbone (LD25)
- Representative David Cook (LD7)
- Representative Julie Willoughby (LD13)
- Representative Timothy Dunn (LD25)
- Representative Michele Pena (LD23)

2024 Legislator of the Year Award – Frank Carroll (SEN LD 28)

We recognize Frank Carroll as our Legislator of the Year. He sponsored much of the legislation we reviewed and supported all of the bills on which we evaluated legislators, earning our highest score. He embodies the conservative values on which Arizona was founded.

AZ Senate Freshman of the Year Award – Janae Shamp (SEN LD29)

Sen. Shamp consistently demonstrated her conservative credentials and was among the highest-scoring senators. She has a heart for service and demonstrates this as a mother, operating room nurse, and – now – an Arizona state senator.

AZ House Freshman of the Year Award – Julie Willoughby (REP LD13)

Julie was appointed to the legislature during the 2023 session. She quickly got up to speed and focused on the many responsibilities of her new position. She did an excellent job of representing and communicating with her constituency.

Advocate for Arizona's Youth – Shawnna Bolick (SEN LD2)

Shawnna worked across the aisle to foster opportunities for youth entrepreneurship and consistently initiated pathways supporting the growth and success of our young citizens. We are proud to recognize Shawnna Bolick for her unwavering dedication to Arizona's future leaders.

Defender of Fiscal Responsibility – J. D. Mesnard (SEN LD13)

As Chair of the Senate Finance and Commerce Committee, J. D. blocked legislation imposing regulatory and economic burdens on businesses. He stopped the advancement of bills increasing spending on poorly designed social welfare programs. His diligence prevented higher taxes on Arizona's citizens who are already economically stressed.

Guardian of Arizona's Families – Steve Montenegro (REP LD29)

Representative Montenegro has been a stalwart in protecting Arizona's children and families. In his capacity as Chair of the House Health and Human Services Committee, he stopped bills increasing regulatory burdens on parents as well as efforts designed to reduce parents' choices for their children's education.