## Capital Area Road and Bridge District Rules of Procedure

- 1. Roberts' Rules of Order shall be the authority for questions of parliamentary procedure in meetings of the commission, its committees, and subcommittees. However, to the extent that any of these rules of procedure conflict with Roberts' Rules of Order, these rules shall take precedence.
- 2. A quorum of the commission shall be comprised of a simple majority of the total membership. A quorum of the committee or subcommittee shall be comprised of a simple majority of the total membership of that committee or subcommittee. The presence of a quorum shall be required for the commission, or a committee, or subcommittee to take official action, but a smaller number may receive information and conduct deliberations. A majority of the entire commission must approve any project or financial action in excess of \$50,000 and for those financial actions less than \$50,000 a majority of the quorum is required. No committee or subcommittee shall contain more than 5 commission members.
- 3. The chair, vice-chair, secretary/treasurer or three commission members may call a special meeting.
- 4. Officers of the commission will be elected annually. There will be no limit on the terms of office.
- 5. The provisions of La. R.S. 42:4.1 through 13, relative to open meetings of public bodies are applicable to the commission. A copy of these laws shall be posted at the regular meeting place of the commission.
- 6. An opportunity for public comment shall be provided at meetings of the commission, its committees, and subcommittees. The chairman or other person presiding at a meeting, at a minimum, shall provide opportunity for a representative number of proponents and opponents to be heard on an issue and shall allot the time available for public comment in an equitable manner among those persons who will be heard. Any person desiring to be heard during the time allotted for public comment shall notify the presiding officer prior to the beginning of the meeting, unless the commission, the committee, or subcommittee, as the case may be, provides otherwise at a particular meeting. In addition to these requirements, the commission, its committees, and subcommittees may adopt reasonable rules, regulations, and restrictions relative to the opportunity for public comment.
- 7. All votes of the commission or of any committee or subcommittee shall be *viva voce*, that is they shall be taken in public by voice vote or by roll call with each member responding aloud. No manner of proxy voting procedure or secret balloting shall be used. No member shall vote who is not present in the meeting room before the result of the vote is announced by the chairman or other person presiding. All votes shall be recorded in the minutes of the meeting.
- 8. The commission, its committees, and subcommittees shall keep written minutes of all of their open meetings. The minutes shall include but need not be limited to:
  - a. The date, time, and place of the meeting.
  - b. The members of the public body recorded as either present or absent.
  - c. The substance of all matters decided, and, at the request of any member, a record by individual member, of any votes taken.

- d. Any other information that the public body requests be included or reflected in the minutes.
- 9. The chairman or other person presiding at a meeting of the commission or of any committee or subcommittee thereof shall maintain order and decorum and may cause the removal of any person who willfully disrupts a meeting such that the orderly conduct of the meeting is seriously compromised.
- 10. Members of the commission, its committees and sub-committees are required to attend meetings. If they are unable to attend meetings, members may appoint one, named in advance, designee with voting privileges to serve in his or her stead. Each Commission member who desires to have a designee shall provide written notice of such to the chairman, and such notice shall name their one designee. Only one named designee shall be vested with the voting privileges of the Commission member.