Mount Holyoke College

Class of 1968

55th Reunion Class Meeting Minutes

May 27, 2023

The meeting was called to order shortly after 1:30 pm in Dwight 101 by Outgoing President Nancie Fimbel. A quorum was established; it included eight class members on Zoom.

Chair Comments. Nancie thanked the 2018-2023 Class Officers for their superb service. She then led those in attendance in singing "Put Your Foot on the Loud, Loud Pedal" in honor of Mary Ann Mears, who was awarded the Alumnae Association Achievement Award for her exceptional career as a sculptor.

Approval of Minutes. The minutes of the 2018 Class Reunion meeting were approved unanimously.

Class Officer Reports. VP/Co-Reunion Chairs Nancy Huttemeyer Davis and Sue Graham Simpson thanked the many people who had participated in planning the reunion. The list of volunteers is attached to these minutes.

Treasurer Stephanie Whalen Cosgrove reported that the treasury has a balance of \$10,922.60, from which additional reunion expenses and scholarships to classmates must be subtracted. Her estimates are that we will have about \$6,800 to pass along to the 60th Reunion team, including new dues that will be paid in the next five years. She is confident that we have sufficient funds. She also explained that the 60th Reunion is the last one we will pay for as a class. After that, the Alumnae Association takes over our treasury and plans our reunion.

Head Class Agents Ellen Petrino Jacobson and Linda Gross thanked the donors in the class; at the time of the meeting we had given \$302,855 to The Mount Holyoke Fund with 56% participation. In addition, our class has raised a total of \$7,628,825 in the last five years including all gifts to all funds. For this, we were awarded the Lion's Cup at the Alumnae Association Business Meeting. The Laurel Chain Society, those who have made a gift in all three of the last three years, now includes 173 of our classmates. Gayle Gunderson Richardson added that 63 members of our class are Mary Lyon Society members, indicating that MHC is included in their wills or trusts. This is more than any other class. Ellen and Linda are seeking class agents for the upcoming 5-year cycle.

Elections. Cindy White Morrell, substituting for Nominating Committee Chair Paula Braga Leidich, presented the slate of officers for 2023-28. They are:

Co-Presidents: Carolyn Dorais and Sue Graham Simpson

Co-VP/Reunion Chairs: Judy O'Connor Hayes and Mobby Brown Larson

Secretary/Scribe: Eloise Prescott Killeffer Treasurer: Stephanie Whalen Cosgrove

Nominating Committee: Meg Boyd Meyer, Chair; Nancy Stowe Inui and Nancie Fimbel

The slate was approved unanimously. Nancie noted that two more members of our class will be appointed to the Nominating Committee by the Co-Presidents as we move closer to our 60th Reunion.

Next we elected three new Faculty Honoraries: Katherine Aidala, Kennedy-Shelkunoff Professor of Physics and Director of the Fimbel Innovation and Maker Lab; Catherine Corson, Miller Worley Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and former Director of the Miller Worley Center for the Environment; and Amy Martin, Professor of English on the Emma B. Kennedy Foundation and Director of the Weissman Center for Leadership. (Dr. John Piper is also an honorary member of the class.) The vote was unanimous.

Finally, Treasurer Stephanie Whalen Cosgrove proposed that our dues remain at \$50 for the upcoming five years. This was also approved unanimously. Stephanie encouraged members of the class to pay dues before leaving South Hadley.

Other Business. Before closing the meeting, Nancie thanked Nancy Huttemeyer Davis and Sue Graham Simpson for their leadership in planning the 55th Reunion and congratulated them on the fabulous success of their efforts. She presented each with a print of the Mary Lyon Gates. Nancie asked those present for a straw vote on whether to have a password-protected Facebook page; a classmate has offered to host one for the class. About 1/3 like the idea, 1/3 don't, and the last 1/3 had no strong feelings. Arin Edwards announced to the class that Nancie has been named to the Board of Trustees as of July 1; the class congratulated Nancie by singing another round of "Loud, loud pedal."

Adjournment to Memorial Service. After the meeting was adjourned, Rev. Holly Vincent Bean and Rev. Dr. Mobby Brown Larson conducted a very moving memorial service for the 51 class members who have died since 1964.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancie Fimbel on behalf of Eloise Prescott Killeffer, Secretary/Scribe

55th Reunion Planning Team and Volunteers – Class of 1968

Reunion Co-Chairs – Nancy Huttemeyer Davis and Sue Graham Simpson

Art Gallery – Cornelia "Nonie" Davis and Suzanne Spaeth Marinell

Class Survey - Betsey Huebenthal Johnson, Carolyn Dorais and Stephanie Whalen Cosgrove

Connections 1968-2018 Classes– Meg Boyd Meyer and Cindy White Morrell

Hospitality – Judy O'Connor Hayes and Linda Graham McElroy

Committee members Ann Bellanger, Laurie Trees Rodgers, Debbie Dunn Rottenberg, and Ginny McNally Tang

Memorial Service – Holly Vincent Bean and Mobby Brown Larson
Parade and Costume – Carol Foy Graham and Donna Machcinski Petersen
Program – Gayle Gunderson Richardson and Christine Anderson Salmon
Reunion Book – Joy Camp, Linda Torlai Stauffer and Pam Daviau Joseph
Reunion Outreach - Linda Renasco Cadigan and Arin Edwards
Saturday Dinner – Debbie Wolf Page and Liz Tannenbaum

Committee members Nancy Quad Cochran, Linda Gross, and Susan Clark Iverson Saturday Reception - Nancie Fimbel and Karen Kunkel West Class Photographers – Nancy Quad Cochran and Arin Edwards