Minutes Ashton Planning and Zoning Commission

March 15, 2016 7:00 pm

Attendees: Commission Members: Administrator Susan Baker, Robert Reimann, Mike Hogle, Norman Watkins, James Reynolds and Jan Warnke. Also in attendance was Councilman Jerry Funke

Administrator Baker called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. And welcomed new commission members James Reynolds and Robert Reimann. Matt Brady was also assigned to the commission but was not in attendance. Administrator Baker conducted the meeting until a new chairman was elected.

Minutes from November 17, 2015 were approved as written.

Administrator Baker called for nominations for chairman. James Reynolds nominated Mike Hogle. Administrator Baker asked if there were any other nominations. There were no other nominations. Administrator Baker asked Commissioner Hogle if he was willing to accept the position. Commissioner Hogle had concerns taking the position because his job now requires him to work on Tuesday evenings. Administrator Baker asked if the commission could change the night of the meeting to accommodate Mr. Hogle. The commission agreed to change the night of the meeting to accommodate Mr. Hogle. Administrator Baker said if there was no other nominations Mike Hogle would be the Chairman. She then turned the time over to Mike to conduct the remainder of the meeting.

Administrator Baker Report -

Administrator Baker gave her report from February 16, 2016 through March 16, 2016. A copy of her report is on file at the Ashton City Building.

Meeting Schedule – Chairman Hogle told the commission that he would be unavailable on Monday and Tuesday evenings but would be available on Wednesday or Thursday. Commissioner Watkins said either night would work for him. Commissioner Reynolds said he would prefer Wednesday nights. The commission decided to hold its regularly scheduled meetings on the 3rd Wednesday of each month.

Commissioner Reimann made a motion to hold the Planning and Zoning meeting on the 3rd Wednesday of each month. Commissioner Watkins seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Comprehensive Plan -

Chairman Hogle wanted to bring the new members up to date on the Comprehensive Plan. Administrator Baker suggested that since most of the commission was new that they start from the beginning and go through it. Chairman Hogle told the commission that they had received a copy of Ammon's Comp. Plan and they would be using it as a guideline. Ashton's Comp. Plan was last updated in 2008. Previously as they had gone over the Plan there were areas that they felt were not necessary so they will start over again this time using the list of requirements required by the Idaho Local Land Use Planning Act. Chairman Hogle told the commission that the reason they were going to look through the City of Ammon's Plan was because it was the most current one to be updated. He stated that they would not apply what Ammon has in their Plan but would use the way it was structured. The commission went over the Ashton Comp. Plan introduction that gives a brief history of Ashton's beginning. Chairman Baker suggested that during the month the commission think about what they may think should be added to the introduction. Commissioner Reynolds asked if the Comp. Plan was law or just a guideline. Administrator Baker stated that it was not law. Chairman Hogle identified that the Plan needed new headings for property rights, economic development and hazardous areas. Assignments were made for next month. Robert was assigned 1. Property Rights, 2. Population, 3. School Facilities and related transportation and 4. Economic Development. Mike was assigned 5. Land Use, 6. Natural Resources, 7. Hazardous Areas and 8. Public Services, facilities and utilities. Norman was assigned 9. Transportation, 10. Recreation, 11. Special Areas

or sites and 12. Housing. James was assigned 13. Community Design, 14. Agriculture, 15. Implementation and 16. National Interest Electric Transmission Corridors.

The chairman asked Susan to check into the travel plan from ITD and the county.

NEXT MEETING: Wednesday, April 20, 2016 at 7:00 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Jan Warnke