Pacific Northwest Political Science Association



## General Membership Meeting Minutes 11.12.2021

Presiding Officer: Robert Harbaugh

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks by Association President Robert Harbaugh
- 2. Report from the Executive Director Richard Elgar
  - Director Elgar reported that the 2021 PNWPSA Annual Meeting had 67 registered attendees. While that number is lower than usual it was robust given the ongoing challenges of running a face-to-face conference during a global pandemic. The lower attendance does translate into reduced revenues but on the whole the Association's finances are stable and sound.
  - Director Elgar also reminded members that the 75th Annual Meeting that will take place in 2022 is set for Walla Walla, Washington with the <u>Marcus Whitman Hotel</u> serving as the conference location.
- 3. President Harbaugh then led a discussion on possible locations for upcoming conferences<sup>1</sup>. There was a strong consensus that the association would like to return to Canada in the near future and the Executive Council and Executive Director have been tasked with exploring potential locations while keeping the following concerns in mind
  - Expenses
  - Potential Travel Restrictions
  - Graduate Student Access
- 4. President Harbaug outlined the process for nominations for the Cascadia Award. It was recommended that Panel Chairs/Discussants submit nominations to Dr. Season Hoard (WSU) or Dr. Erika Wolters (OSU) as soon as possible.
  - Accompanying this discussion was a decision to also provide an award for Best Graduate Student Paper. The Executive Council will discuss those details at its Spring Meeting in Walla Walla.
- 5. President Ex Officio Kevin Prich (EWU) reported on the successful attainment of 501C3 status by the Association.
  - In recognition of his efforts in this area and the personal expenses he put forward the Association unanimously agreed to grant Dr. Pirch a Lifetime Membership<sup>2</sup> to the Association.
- 6. Elections: The Association had two positions up for election.
  - Dr. Travis Ridout (WSU) was nominated by Ed Taylor; seconded by Priscilla Southwell.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Possible location suggestions from membership included: Vancouver, BC; Victoria, BC; Astoria, OR; Hood River, OR; Port Angeles, WA; Blaine, WA.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> It was also agreed that any member who would like to purchase a lifetime membership could do so for the price of \$2500.

- Dr. Chris Stout (OSU) was nominated by Erika Woters; seconded by Todd Donovan.
- Following nominations a motion was made by Leif Hoffman to elect the candidate slate by acclamation; seconded by Todd Donovan. The motion passed unanimously.

Meeting Adjourned at 6:00 PM

Respectfully submitted by Association Secretary Dr. Edwin Taylor, Missouri Western State University