

2023 East Texas Summit

Presented by

East Texas Democratic Caucus & Texas Democratic Party

9 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.	Check-In/ Late Registration	
9:45 a.m.	Opening of the Summit ET Dem Caucus Secretary, D. Karen Wilkerson Welcome & Prayer Smith County Commissioner, Rev. Ralph Caraway Pledge of Allegiance Shirley Layton, ET Dem Caucus Chair, U.S. Navy Veteran	Main Auditorium
10 a.m.	Introduction and Remarks - Keynote Speaker Leonard Aguilar, Texas AFL-CIO Secretary/Treasurer, DNC Member representing the Texas Labor Caucus	Main Auditorium
10:15 a.m.	Texas Democratic Party Executive Director, Birk Wilkison	Main Auditorium
10:30 a.m.	Breakout Sessions – Explanation & Encouragement TDP Political Director, Ryan Garcia TDP Senior Advisor, Bill Brannon A. Activist 1: Election Protection & Voter Registration TDP Voter Protection Director, Jenna Royal Turning out Young People (Young Voters' Voices) Angel Hellman & Jennifer Murphy-Vick B. County Chairs 1: Fundraising – Ideas, Plans & Rules TDP Vice-Chair Kendall Scudder, Clayton Tucker & John Michael Adams C. Prospective Candidates 1: Campaign Life, Winning Against the Odds & Why Run for Office TDP Political Director, Ryan Garcia	Main Auditorium Breakout Rooms TBA
11:15 a.m.	Networking Break (25 minutes) Reconvene in Main Auditorium at 11:45 a.m.	

Lunch (1 hour 15 minutes)

11:45 a.m.

1 p.m.	Online Auction Closeout – Live on-screen Moderated by Hank Gilbert, Licensed Auctioneer	Main Auditorium
1:30 p.m.	 Breakout Sessions Resume A. Activist 2: Effectively Helping Candidates	Breakout Rooms TBA
2:15 p.m.	Networking Break (10 minutes)	
2:25 p.m.	Insanity of the Moment "Texas Paul" Schroder, The Merchant of Hard Truths! @Paultx890	Main Auditorium
2:35 p.m.	Project Lady Bird – A New & Exciting Project, Especially for Rural Texas TDP Digital Director, Drew Corbitt	Main Auditorium
2:50 p.m.	Let's Talk About Messaging TDP Digital Director, Drew Corbitt TDP Senior Advisor, Bill Brannon	Main Auditorium
3:10 p.m.	Legislative Session Updates State Representative Vikki Goodwin (here from Austin with an important message)	Main Auditorium
3:30 p.m.	What Have We Learned? ET Dem Caucus Chair, Shirley Layton NURO Outreach Director, Carl Jones ET Dem Caucus Outreach Director, Hunter Evans TDP Staff	Main Auditorium
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn! Visit our website: easttexasdems.com	