
Understanding the Girls’ Penalty Zone 
 
In 2019 high school and youth girls’ lacrosse will implement several significant rule 
changes. One change focused directly on increasing player safety is the creation of a 
penalty zone.   
 
The penalty zone is intended to simplify penalty administration and address safety 
concerns around 8-meter free positions. This area will be cleared for all 8m free 
positions awarded above the goal line extended.  
 
The penalty zone is the area from inside the 8-meter arc and extending back to the 
dots from the 8-meter arc.  
 

 
If a major foul by a defensive player occurs within  8-meters of the goal circle above 
the goal line extended, the entire penalty zone must be cleared. All players in the 
penalty zone must take the shortest route out.  
 
If a major foul by a defensive player occurs below the goal line extended, the player 
with the ball will go to the nearest dot. The penalty zone is not cleared when a foul is 
administered at a dot.  
 
The procedures for clearing the penalty zone will remain the same as was previously 
used to clear the 8m arc with the following exception: if a pair of opposing players is to 
be moved to a hash adjacent to the ball carrier, the defensive player will be entitled to 
the inside position closest to the ball carrier.   
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Frequently Asked Questions about the Penalty Zone 
 
 
Q1: When clearing the penalty zone, are defensive players always entitled to 
the hash adjacent to the ball carrier?   
 
No, not always; only the defensive player who has been cleared to the hash adjacent to 
the ball carrier is entitled to the adjacent hash. If no defensive player would be moved 
to the adjacent hash, the adjacent hash will remain empty. If an attack player would be 
moved to the hash adjacent to the ball carrier and there is no defensive player that 
would be moved with her, the attack player is entitled to the adjacent hash.  
 
Q2: Are there any situations where a lane is cleared instead of the penalty 
zone? 
 
Yes. For any major foul that occurs between the 8m arc and the 12m fan you will still 
clear a lane which is as wide as the goal circle and all players are well outside of the 
lane.  
 
Q3: If the goalkeeper is outside of her goal circle when a foul is committed 
can she clear back into her goal circle? 
 
Yes. As long as she did not commit the foul and was within the penalty zone, she can 
clear back into her goal circle when the penalty zone is cleared. 
 
Q4: If a free position is being set on an outside hash mark (the hanging 
hash), does the pie area on the opposite side of the 8m arc need to be 
cleared? 
 
Yes. Any time a free position is taken on a hash mark, the entire penalty zone must be 
cleared. 
 
 
 
 


