
GOLF RULES TRIVIA 
 
1. If a player starts the round with fewer than fourteen clubs, they may add any 
number provided their total does not exceed fourteen. 

A. True 
B. False 

2. Which action is allowed while playing your shot?  
A. Move, bend or break an attached tree branch to clear swing path 
B. Remove or press down divots that have already been replaced 
C. Remove dew, frost or water 
D. Move the tee box marker 
E. None of the above 

3. Which is correct regarding the use of a non-calculating electronic device? 
A. It may not be used to obtain information about the Rules. 
B. It may not be used to obtain information about the course. 
C. It may be used to review information collected from previous rounds. 

4. Which is correct regarding the player cleaning their ball? (Ref# 165) 
A. The player may not clean the ball when lifting to take relief from temporary 

water. 
B. The player may not remove cut grass sticking to the ball lying in the general 

area. 
C. The player may clean the ball when it has been lifted because it interferes 

with play. 
5. Which is correct regarding a player who decides to take unplayable ball relief? 

A. The player may drop back-on-the-line outside the penalty area for two 
strokes if their ball is in a penalty area. 

B. The player may drop a ball in a penalty area, if the original ball lies in the 
general area. 

C. The player may decide to take unplayable ball relief when their ball lies 
anywhere on the course. 

6. In Four-Ball play, with side A-B, Player A accidentally stops Player B’s ball in 
motion after a stroke in the general area that prevents the ball from going out of 
bounds. What is the ruling?  

A. There is no penalty to anyone and B's ball is played as it lies. 
B. A gets the general penalty and B's ball is played as it lies. 
C. The side gets the general penalty and B's ball is played as it lies. 

7. In a stroke-play play-off, Player A by mistake gives a wrong score to Player B 
causing B to lift their ball from the putting green without marking it; A gets a penalty. 

A. True 
B. False 

8. A player is taking relief from a cart path.The player leaves the original ball on the 
path and drops a second (substituted) ball within one club-length of the nearest point 
of complete relief, not nearer the hole. Before making a stroke at either ball, which 
ball is in play? 

A. The original ball on the path. 
B. The substituted ball. 
C. Both balls. 
D. Neither ball. 

9.  Is the player allowed to play a provisional ball after the search has started? 
A. Yes 
B. No 

 

ANSWERS 
 
1.A (True) - You must not start a round with more than 14 clubs or have more than 14 
clubs during the round.  If you start a round with fewer than 14 clubs, you may add 
clubs during the round up to the 14-club limit. 
 
2.E (None of the above) - Rule 8.1a 
 
3.C (it can be used to review information collected from previous rounds) Rule 4.3a 
 
4.B (The player may not remove cut grass sticking to the ball lying in the general 
area) Rule 14.1c and 8.1a 

 
5. B (The player may drop a ball in a penalty area, if the original ball lies in the 
general area) - Rule 19.2 
 
6.B (There is no penalty to anyone and B's ball is played as it lies) Rule 11.1 

 
7. B (False) Rule 1.3c 
 
8. B The substituted ball. Rule 16.1a 

 
 
9. A (Yes under 3 minutes). Rule 18.3a/2 
Playing Provisional Ball After Search Has Started Is Allowed 
A player may play a provisional ball for a ball that might be lost up until the point when 
the three-minute search time has ended. 
For example IF a player is able to return to the spot of their previous stroke and play a 
provisional ball before the three-minute search time has ended, the player is 
allowed to do so.  If the player plays the provisional ball and the original ball is then 
found within the three-minute search time, the player must continue to play with the 
original ball. 


