## LaPolt and Yannone Victorious While Dachenhausen Sweeps Championships

For the first time in weeks, Mother Nature co-operated to give us a beautiful weekend for racing. Saturday was Championship Night at Bethel Motor Speedway, with double points on the line for most divisions.

Nascar Asphalt modified action this year has been an intense battle. While Ed Dachenhausen had the most wins, he still had to keep an eye over his shoulder, with Mike Dutka, and John Cote within striking distance due to the double points event. Dachenhausen has the most wins of the season, however, his points competition almost always finished right behind. Bill Deak and Skip LaPolt would pace the field for the 20 lap event. The three top points contenders would start Cote 4<sup>th</sup>, Dachenhausen 5<sup>th</sup>, and Dutka 6<sup>th</sup>, making for an intense battle. LaPolt edged Deak for the lead, while the three points contenders were moving forward. The three battled lap after lap, while LaPolt checked out. Final rundown would find LaPolt victorious over Dachenhausen, Cote, Dutka, and Deak.

The Dirt Sportsman Championship came down to two drivers. Ed Dachenhausen and Joe Knoth, however Knoth was not in attendance for the final points race. Jamie Yannone would start pole via redraw, with teammate Brett Graham to his outside, while Dachenhausen would start 4<sup>th</sup>. Yannone would clear Graham on the initial circuit, and gap the field. Dachenhausen would battle Graham, until a mid race pass would advance him to second. Yannone had a huge lead, while Dachenhausen was nipping away at it. Unfortunately for Dachenhausen, the 20 lap feature wasn't enough laps to close the gap between him and Yannone. Top 5 would be Yannone, Dachenhausen, Graham, Rich Coons, John Woiniski, with Dachenhausen taking the championship honors.

The battle for the Nascar Street Stock Championship would come down to four drivers. Scott Tyler, Joel Murns, Tucker Katz, and Leland Oefelein, with Murns currently atop the standings. Katz and Kyle Welsch would bring the field to green, with Tyler, Murns, and Oefelein in tow. Oefelein would break early in the race, with Tyler and Murns battling to the front. Katz would break mid race, leaving Tyler, now leading Murns and Welsch. Murns would make many attempts to clear Tyler, but Tyler held on to cross the line ahead of Murns, Welsck, Glenn Cargain, and Scott Sepe. Post race tech would advance Welsch to the win over Cargain, and Sepe. Joel Murns would be crowned champion.

In Nascar Pro Stock action, Brandon Decker would lead Tom Katz across the line. Katz would be crowned champion.

Modified 4cyls would find JW Gannon and Tisha Curry battling for the championship most of the season, exchanging the lead back and forth early in the season. Gannon has amassed 9 wins for the season, and Curry 3, but Jeffrey Tubbs would be the feature winner spoiler, winning the 20 lap feature, with Curry, Gannon, Jeff DeGroat, and Scott Young in tow across the line. Gannon would be crowned champion after final points were tallied.

Scott Young would find his third win of the season in the 4cyl Advance division, with Jeff DeGroat taking championship honors.

Kevin Cargain would take the 4cyl truck win and Championship, Kylee Curry would also take her 4cyl Novice win and Championship.

Jordan Smith would be victorious in INEX Bandoleros, while James Bauernfeind picked up the win in the Beginner Bandoleros. Dennis Hummel would win the Gut N Go Enduro.

9/16/23 RESULTS:

NASCAR ASPHALT MODIFIEDS: 1) SKIP LAPOLT 2) ED DACHENHAUSEN 3) JOHN COTE 4) MIKE DUTKA

5) BILL DEAK 6) FRED NEES 7) KYAL ROSS 8) CLINT HALSTEAD

DIRT SPORTSMAN: 1) JAMIE YANNONE 2) ED DACHENHAUSEN 3) BRETT GRAHAM 4) RICH COONS

5) JOGHN WOINOSKI

NASCAR STREET STOCKS: 1) KYLE WELSCH 2) GLENN CARGAIN 3) SCOTT SEPE DQ) SCOTT TYLER,

JOEL MURNS, TUCKER KATZ, LELAND OEFELEIN.

NASCAR PRO STOCKS: 1) BRANDON DECKER 2) TOM KATZ

MODIFIED 4CYLS: 1) JEFFREY TUBBS 2) TISHA CURRY 3) JW GANNON 4) JEFF DEGROAT 5) SCOTT YOUNG

6) BRUCE ILLENBERG 7) DAN HOUGHTALING 8) JERRY KINGETER

4CYL ADVANCE: 1) SCOTT YOUNG 2) JEFF DEGROAT 3) JERRY KINGETER DQ) BRUCE ILLENBERG

4CYL TRUCKS: 1) KEVIN CARGAIN

4CYL NOVICE 1) KYLEE CURRY 2) RIC RYDER

INEX BANDOLEROS: 1) JORDAN SMITH 2) MADISON WHITE

BEGINNER BANDOLEROS: 1) JAMES BAUERNFEIND 2) ALYSON SMITH

GUT N GO ENDURO: 1) DENNIS HUMMEL 2) CHARLES HUMMEL JR