Deckelman and Cote Take Open Wheel Thrillers

As Bethel Management watched weather forecasters dance around with the Saturday evening forecast, they decided to push forward with the scheduled event, as there was little chance of rain at race time. Just before hot laps were to get underway, a quick pop-up shower doused the speedway. The staff and racers quickly worked to get the speedway dried up, and racing action started only slightly behind schedule. The management wishes to thank everyone involved who helped get the track back to racing conditions.

Old rivalries were revisited, with Bill Deckelman back in action in his old Sportsman ride. The former Bauernfeind Motorsports mount, now owned by Ed Butler, was on-hand for Deckelman to wheel. The last time Deckelman raced the car was in the Fall Series in 2021, and won his last race to date at Bethel, and winning the championship that same year.

Deckelman and Ed Dachenhausen, former rivals, would put on a show for the crowd. Dachenhausen started pole, while 2022 Champion, Joe Knoth started outside, with Deckelman second row, joined by another former rival, Jamie Yannone. Dachenhausen and Deckelman got away at the drop of the green. The two battled it out for the top spot, with Deckelman getting by Dachenhausen 6 laps into the event. Unfortunately, Dachenhausen broke 8 laps into the event, ending his night. Deckelman would go on to the checkers, with Knoth challenging at times, but never able to make the pass, while Yannone took third.

Asphalt Modified action kept fans on the edge of their seats. Skip LaPolt and Mike Dutka paced the field for the 20 lap event. At the drop of the green, John Cote edged LaPolt to take the lead on the initial circuit, as the bottom line was the preferred racing line for the Asphalt Modified racers. LaPolt, realizing this, fell into Cote's tire tracks, making numerous attempts at Cote, but never able to complete the pass. While this was going on, Ed Dachenhausen was picking away his competitors, reeling in the top two. Dachenhausen would make the pass on LaPolt at lap 17, and began to mount serious challenges at Cote. Cote would hold him off for the win. Dachenhausen, LaPolt, Bill Deak, and Fred Nees would complete the top 5.

JW Gannon picked up his third win of the season in the Modified 4 cylinders. Winning from the 4th starting spot. Tucker Katz, making a visit to the Modified 4 cylinders, as Street Stocks were off for the evening, came across the line second, with Bruce Illenberg, Tisha Curry, and Scott Young, rounding out the top 5.

In 4 cylinder Advance action, Jeff Degroat also picked up his 3rd win of the season, over Scott Young, Bruce Illenberg, Shane Turner, and Fawn Card.

Glenn Cargain in 4 cylinder Trucks, Chris Piasecki in INEX Legends, and Jerry Kingeter in the Open Comp Enduro were also feature winners on Saturday.

Two drivers who made a full weekend out of winning, racing both Saturday night, and also on Sunday, for the Speedway's first official Small Car Sunday of the season, Jordan Smith in INEX Bandoleros, and James Bauernfeind in Beginner Bandoleros. While Smith was unchallenged for his wins, Bauernfeind had to make sure he hit his marks, as Alyson Smith was in tow both days, looking for that "W".

Also winning on Sunday, Bruce Illenberg in the Open Comp Enduro, Charles Hummel in the Mini-Van Enduro, and Colton Welsch making it back-to-back wins in the Rookie ChampKart feature.