Dachenhausen Sweeps Open Wheel Action at Bethel

Two rescheduled nights were on tap at Bethel Motor Speedway on Saturday, with the rescheduled Pine Brook Reunion Night from June 24th, and the rescheduled Camera and Picture Night from July 29th, making for an extremely busy night. Speedway Management would like to thank everyone for their cooperation in getting the entire show in before curfew.

It was also a busy night for Ed Dachenhausen, racing in both the Nascar Asphalt Modifieds, and Dirt Modified/Sportsman. Dachenhausen dominated both races, starting from outside pole in both 20 lap races. He would lead John Cote, Skip LaPolt, Mike Dutka, and Fred Nees across the line in the Nascar Asphalt Modified division, and Rich Coons, Joe Knoth, and Jamie Yannone in the Dirt Modified Sportsman.

Nascar Street Stock action was intense with the two point leaders, who are tied in points, battling it out, before mayhem took them both out of contention late in the race. Co-point leader Scott Tyler, and Nick Foley would lead the field to green. Co-Point Leader Joel Murns would advance to second following Tyler across the line on the initial circuit. Murns would make numerous challenges for the lead from Tyler. Contact between the two on lap 18, would sideline the points leaders. JB Morris would gain the top spot, and go on to take the checkers, with Leland Oefelein, Tucker Katz, Kyle Welsch, and Phil Funcheon finishing out the top 5.

Brandon Decker, the 2022 Nascar Pro Stock Champion, has been racing part time this season in the division. When Decker is able to race, he is always in contention to win. Decker would draw pole via the redraw, with Vinny Stanton Jr, outside. Decker stepped out as Stanton's car began to fade, with Tom Katz taking second. Final run down would be, Decker dominating, Katz, Stanton, Sal Macchio, and Bill Decker fifth across the line.

East Coast TQ PenNY Midgets had a barn burner of a race in the Ralph Flach Memorial 20 lap event. Don Zrinski and Tyler Wagner would lead the field on the initial circuit, with Josh Patterson and Richie Coy nipping at their heels. Once Patterson cleared Zrinski, he set his sights on Wagner, for an intense side by side battle that would last all race. The two traded the lead back and forth, before Patterson was able to make a late race pass to clear Wagner. Patterson, Wagner, Zrinski, Coy, and Chris Hirt would round out the top 5.

In Modified 4cyl action, JW Gannon from his 5th place starting spot ran down outside pole sitter Shawn Tyler on a last lap pass to take the checkers over Tyler, Jeff DeGroat, Jeffrey Tubbs, and Bruce Illenberg.

Nicole Nelson, 2022 4cyl Advance Champion, lead green to checkered in the 20 lap main event, despite challenges from second finishing Scott Young. Young, Jeff DeGroat, and Jerry Kingeter would be the running order across the line, but following post-race technical inspection, Kingeter would inherit 3rd in the final run down.

Also taking the checkers on Saturday would be Alyson Smith in Beginner Bandoleros, fresh off her 2023 BandoStock win, Madison White, taking her first INEX Bandolero win, Kylee Curry, going back-to-back in 4cyl Novice, and Glenn Cargain in 4cyl Trucks.

Small Car Sunday Winners would be Bruce Illenberg in the Open Comp Enduro, Dennis Hummel in the Mini Van Enduro, Clark Mccollum in Sr ChampKarts, and James Bauernfeind in the Beginner Bandoleros.

Just a reminder to everyone that we will not be racing Labor Day weekend, but we get back to it in September 9th for our Heroes, Remembered Night, with a 9/q11 memorial at intermission.

Have a safe, healthy, and happy Labor Day everyone.