McCollum Grabs Record 4th Legendstock Victory

Two hot and sunny days greeted racers as they practiced and raced for the two day event, called Legendstock. Since it's inception in 2008, the coveted guitar trophy has been a prized gem on many racer's mantles. Nascar stars William Byron, Christian Eckes, Joe Graf, Jr., and reigning Nascar Xfinity Series Champion Daniel Hemric with three back to back, just to name a few, all have the famous Legendstock Guitar trophy. The Phillipsburg, New Jersey native had five going into the event. Two in the Bandolero class, and three in the Legend class, 2015, 2019, and 2021. Legendstock was not held in 2018 due to extenuating circumstances, and again in 2020 due to Covid 19 restrictions. This was the thirteenth rendition of the event.

Due to the unique qualifying format for the event, McCollum had enough accumulated points to start on the pole after being fastest in time trials, and winning his heat from the handicapped last position. McCollum and returning James Andersen were the front row for the fifty lap event. By the end of the first circuit, Joey Braun had moved to the runner up position, relegating Andersen to third. McCollum was never really able to break away, with various cautions starting on lap nine. All minor spins, or minimal contact. Another caution fell at lap twenty-four, just shy of the halfway point, with McCollum, Braun, Andersen, Eugene Drew, and Chris Coleman claiming the top five. On the restart, Coleman would advance to fourth, dropping Drew to fifth. On a lap thirty-three restart Drew found himself around in turn one, bringing Brad Lowmaster into the mix. On lap forty, Drew would advance back up to the top five, before caution was flying for the tenth time in the event. The restart found McCollum leading Braun, Andersen, Drew, and Coleman. Despite challenges from Braun, McCollum would retain the lead, and the top five would remain unchanged for the duration, claiming his sixth guitar trophy, and the \$1500 prize.

As previously stated, INEX Bandoleros also win a guitar trophy for their Legendstock event. Chevy Rommeny, who calls Riverhead Raceway, on Long Island his regular home, would outlast the competition to win his very first guitar, outlasting the 2021 winner Rodney Dowless, Will Sipala, Isaiah Andersen, and Jordan Smith. Reigning 2021 track champion Leland Oefelein would suffer mechanical woes on lap three of the event while leading.

Easton Houghtaling has been on a tear as of late in the Beginner Bandolero division. Houghtaling dropped the hammer at the start and never looked back, for the 10 lap event. The Beginners put on a show for the crowd behind Houghtaling, who was putting on a clinic. Houghtaling would take the checkers over Alyson Smith, Phillip Alaimo, Madison White, Sean Tyler, Nicholas Hodge, and Levi Houghtaling.

The Street Stock class would honor the memory of Ronnie Welsch, with the Bad Company 57, and a \$3000 payday to the winner. Kyle Welsch, Ronnie's son, and Dawn Roemer, Bethel Director of Promotions and Marketing, worked together to put together the purse, and promote the event. A decent field of cars would make the trek to compete for the top prize. A last minute sponsor, made the purse a guaranteed \$100 to take the green.

Bethel veteran Daryl DeBetta would start on the pole, with OCFS regular Bill Deak Jr, outside. Caution showed for the first time with 6 in the books. 2021 Street Stock Champion JB Morris had advanced to second, from his third starting spot, with Kyle Welsch advancing to the top five. Morris would get the jump on the restart to gain the top spot. On lap 15, George Van Arsdall would crack the top 5, from his ninth starting spot. On lap 21, Bill Deak Sr, and Scott Tyler would make contact in the top five bringing out the caution. This moved Welsch to the runner up spot, and another track veteran Charlie Houghtaling moved to third in the scuffle. Houghtaling would be involved in the caution on lap 25. Top 5 now read Morris, Welsch, Van Arsdall, Deak Jr, Deak Sr. Morris broke, and cleared the track safely on lap 32, giving the lead to Welsch with Van Arsdall in tow, with Deak Jr, Deak Sr, and Tyler back in the top five, on lap 40. Seventeen laps later, Welsch would cross the line first over Van Arsdall, Deak Sr, Deak Jr, and Tyler, however, post-race tech would change the outcome, with Van Arsdall being awarded the win, with Deak Sr second, Deak Jr third, DeBetta fourth, and Wayne Taylor fifth.

Joe Knoth would hold off Ed Dachenhausen, and Jim Halpin in the twenty lap Dirt Modified feature event.

John Velde would win Nascar Pro Stocks, JW Gannon the Modified 4cyls, and Nicole Nelson won the 4cyl Advanced division.

The 4cyl Novice division was postponed until next weekend due to time constraints.