# SIOUXLAND COALITION TO END HOMELESSNESS May 20, 2024 - 1:00 p.m.

**Mission Statement**: To eliminate and prevent homelessness through collaborative planning, advocacy and funding of a system of housing and supportive services.

The SCEH Board and its Member Agencies value the input of individuals, particularly those who have experienced or are experiencing homelessness, and organizations with knowledge of homelessness and an interest in preventing or ending homelessness. New members, especially current and formerly homeless individuals, are invited to join the SCEH, attend meetings, and participate in SCEH committees as we work to end homelessness in Siouxland.

Board Members		
Agency	Name	Present
Iowa Legal Aid	Frank Tenuta, Chair	Х
	Vacant, Vice Chair	
City of Sioux City	Amy Keairns, Secretary	Х
Peoples Bank	Wendy Jackson, Treasurer	Х
Heartland Counseling Services	Jessica Barnes	
The Warming Shelter	Shayla Moore	Х
Catholic Charities	Amy Bloch	Х
Center For Siouxland	Alison Justice	Х
FAVA	Darrell Mayo	Х
KTIV	Taylor Deckert	Х
NENCAP	Amy Munderloh	
SafePlace	Stephanie Pickinpaugh	
University of South Dakota	Nate Probasco	
Salvation Army	Karissa Zumwalt	Х

General Members*			
Agency	Name	Present	
	Michelle Orengo		
	Sharon Drummond		
Boystown	Keely Blome		
Catholic Charities			
Center For Siouxland	Susan McGuire		
	Hattie Keairns		
City of Sioux City - Housing Authority	Amy Tooley		
City of Sioux City - Human Rights	Karen Mackey	Х	
City of Sioux City - Neighborhood Services	Clara Coly	Х	
City of Sioux City - Police Department	Tom Gill		
Community Action Agency of Siouxland	Antoinette Green Jean Logan		
Connections Area Agency on Aging	Chris Kuchta		
Dismas Charities	Kristina Gralheer		
Downtown Partners	Ragen Cote	Х	
FAVA/Westcare	Paul Andres		
	Ken Anderson		
	Darrell Mayo	Х	
Gospel Mission	Randy Ehlers Amy Mitchell		
Haven House	Kristina Gralheer	Х	
Heartland Counseling Services	Jennifer Jackson		

	Nicole Lidman	Χ
	Tanya Walters	Х
HUD VASH	Angie McElmuray Dundee	
Iowa Legal Aid	Grant Beckwith	
Lila Mae's House	Emily Culver	
Iowa Workforce Development	Maggie Vogt	Х
	Amanda Hageman	
Molina Health Care	Jackie Stellish	
NEN CAP	Nikki Peirce	
Nebraska DHHS	Stacy Schenk	
Ponca Tribe of Nebraska	Amber Wendt	
	Andrea Rodriguez	
	Brad Johnson	
Safe Place	Margarita Mireles	
Sale Place		
SHIP	Matt Ohman	Х
	Melissa Ramirez	Х
Siouxland Community Health	Tami Doyle-Tieck	
Center	Brandi Steck	
	Glen Houts	
Siouxland Community Foundation	Katie Roberts	
	Lindsey Slenk	
Ciarnel Mandal Haalth		
Siouxland Mental Health	Julie Schaap	
	Marcia Carlson	
United Health Care	Gloria Kennedy	
	Sarah Hughes	
Unity Point		
Veteran's Administration	Melvin Lynn	
	Kemi Brown	
Manusius Chalks:	Larry Banks	Х
Warming Shelter	Joe Twidwell	Х
Minnahana Trib -	Val Uken	
Winnebago Tribe	Melissa Remington	
Women Aware		
Woodbury County	Julie Albright	
	Theresa Jochum	

Guest: Chris Courtney, Siouxland CARES, Ragen Cote, Downtown Partners; Falon Torrez, Urban Indian Connections.

<sup>\*</sup>If your agency isn't listed on the members list but want to become a member, contact <a href="mailto:ccoly@sioux-city.org">ccoly@sioux-city.org</a>.

Attendance and Introductions/Roll Call. The meeting was called to order at 1:07 p.m.

**Approval of Agenda.** A motion was made by Alison Justice and seconded by Amy Keairns to approve the agenda. All members present voting aye, motion carried.

**Approval of Minutes from March 25, 2024.** A motion was made by Amy Keairns and seconded by Alison Justice to approve the minutes from January 22, 2024. All members present voting aye, motion carried.

**Treasurer's Report and Approval.** A motion was made by Alison Justice and seconded by Darrell Mayo to approve the Treasurer's report. All members present voting aye, motion carried.

### Standing Committee Reports.

# Executive/Nominating

Chair: Frank Tenuta

Members: Amy Keairns, Wendy Jackson

Amy and Susan are continuing work on the SCEH Policy Manual with the planning grant. The draft VAWA
Policy was provided at the March meeting, so there will be a vote to approve it at the next meeting.

## Project Monitoring/Development/Data and Performance Management

Chair: Wendy Jackson

Members: Shayla Becker, Amy Bloch, Antoinette Green, Jennifer Jackson, Amy Keairns, Nicole Lidman, Susan McGuire, Stephanie Pickinpaugh, Katie Roberts

No Updates.

#### Grant

Chair: Susan McGuire

Members: Jennifer Jackson, Alison Justice, Amy Keairns, Stephanie Pickinpaugh

No Updates.

#### Public Awareness and Advocacy

Chair: Joe Twidwell

Members: Jessica Barnes, Clara Coly, Taylor Deckert, Nicole Lidman, Michelle Orengo, Kari Rhodes

No Updates.

#### Other committee Reports.

#### EFSP Ad Hoc Committee

All four applicants are receiving money. The Salvation Army received the most money for rent and mortgage
assistance. The money was not yet released at the time of the meeting, but they will start accepting applications
once it is available.

### Coordinated Entry and HMIS Update

Clara Coly provided an update on Coordinated Entry and HMIS. Since the beginning of the year, Coordinated Entry received 223 phone calls and in person inquiries by participants checking in or giving updates. 61 intake appointments were completed of 140 scheduled appointments. There are 165 households currently on the list, and there were 20 referrals sent since April 1st. 8 were unsuccessful and came back, 4 moved in, and 8 were still pending.

#### Ad Hoc group on service

No update.

#### Street Project

Matt Ohman provided an update from the May 14<sup>th</sup> Community Meeting and passed out notes from the meeting.
 Matt, Clara Coly, and Ragen Cote will meet to make a plan with the outcomes from the meeting and will communicate with the board regarding upcoming meetings.

#### Old Business.

Sign up for committees.

 Approval of proposed changes to bylaws amending duties of Public Awareness and Advocacy Committee (attachment 1). A motion was made by Alison Justice and seconded by Taylor Deckert to approve the changes to the bylaws. All members present voting aye, motion carried.

#### New Business.

- A motion was made by Shayla Moore and seconded by Karen Mackey to accept the nominations of and approve Wendy Jackson, Taylor Deckert, and Alison Justice to continue on the board and Joe Twidwell, Kristina Gralheer, and Clara Coly as new board members. All members present voting aye, motion carried.
- Amy Keairns submitted her resignation as board secretary and as a board member, effective immediately.
- A motion was made by Alison Justice and seconded by Darrell Mayo to accept the nominations of and approve Joe Twidwell as Vice-Chair and Clara Coly as Secretary. All members present voting aye, motion carried.

#### Agency Spotlight/Reports/Activities/Updates/Discussion.

- Neighborhood Services: The Action Plan was delayed so the process looks a little different this year. On June 5<sup>th</sup>, there is a public hearing at 4pm where NS will present a draft Action Plan and accept feedback from the community. Comments can be provided from June 1<sup>st</sup> until July 1<sup>st</sup>. The Action Plan is located on the City's website, Sioux-city.org.
- The Salvation Army is waiting on the release of their EFSP funds, and then they will be able to help with rent and mortgage. Karissa Zumwalt shared that she and her husband have received moving orders and will be leaving at the end of June.
- The Warming Shelter is open to a limited population this summer, including families with children, those with mobility impairments, and those currently working. The day shelter will be open to anyone with limited hours.
- The mobile shower unit is beginning again through the Siouxland Community Health Center.
- Hope Street has their ribbon cutting May 22<sup>nd</sup> at 4pm.

The next meeting will be held Monday, July 22, 2024 at 1:00 p.m. at the Gleeson Room of the Wilbur Aalfs Library.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:59 p.m.