AN EVENING OF RECOGNITION ~ NOVEMBER 2020 ANDY & DOLORES GAMBRELL RECEIPIENTS OF THE INAUGURAL VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

In November 2020, The Friends of the South Congaree – Pine Ridge Library hosted "An Evening of Recognition" to honor some of our special "Friends." Named in their honor, we recognized Andy and Dolores Gambrell as the inaugural recipients of *The Andy & Dolores Gambrell Volunteer of the Year Award*. Andy & Dolores were the initial organizers of the SCPR Friends group, and they have dedicated their lives to this group. Andy served as the first president, and Dolores served as the second president. Their combined services totaled 12 years. These two are always working to make the library a great place to visit.



Dolores & Andy Gambrell

At the recognition ceremony we also honored Bobby Keisler, retiring Lexington County Council Representative, and McLain Toole, retiring South Carolina House District 88 Representative. Both gentlemen were instrumental in making our library a reality. Without their efforts, we may not have the facility we have today.



Mechelle Mabry, former Lexington County Library Board member, Kelly Poole Lexington County Library System Director, Carol Clark Branch Librarian, Bobby Keisler, Lexington County Council retired, Kitty Spires, former Lexington County Library Board member & current SCPR Friends President, Dolores Gambrell & Andy Gambrell former SCPR presidents, Tamela Jett & Barbara Madden, SCPR Board



McLain Toole, SC House District 88 Retired

FRIENDS & LOCAL OFFICIALS WIN FRIENDS' STATE AWARDS

On April 26, 2021, the South Congaree Pine Ridge Friends hosted an awards evening where we presented our scholarship awards and the Friends of South Carolina Libraries awards. Awards were presented by Marlena White, FOSCL president. Bobby Keisler and McLain Toole were recognized as the recipients of the *Public Official Award for 2021*.



RJ May, SC House District 88 Representative congratulates McLain & Bobby on their award.

The South Congaree Pine Ridge Friends Group won the inaugural *Outstanding Friends Award for 2021*.



Kitty Spires, SCPR Friends President Marlena White, FOSCL President

Friends' Officers accepted the *Outstanding Friends Group* award from Marlena White. What an exciting evening to honor so many outstanding Friends and accomplishments!



1st Row--Tamela Jett, Barbara Madden, Lori Collins, Kitty Spires, Dolores Gambrell, Tina Fiorey 2nd Row--Marlena

INAUGURAL CAROL B. CLARK SCHOLARSHIP RECEIPIENTS

The Carol B. Clark Scholarship awards for 2021 were presented at the April event by Carol Clark to our first recipients, Ms. Caroline Reddick of Airport High School and Ms. Zoe Kimble of White Knoll High School.



Evangeline Reddick, Caroline Reddick, Carol Clark



Heather Kimble, Tommy Kimble, Zoe Kimble, Carol Clark