Director Area Vacancy Announcement

On December 31, 2022, the terms of office for five (5) of the directors of the East Dakota Water Development District (EDWDD) expire. The pending vacancies are for the following director areas (Administrative Rules of South Dakota 74:05:05:20):

Director 1: representing the cities of Big Stone, Milbank, Marvin, and Twin Brooks in Grant County; Alban, Big Stone, Blooming Valley, Farmington, Grant Center, Kilborn, Lura, Mazeppa, Melrose, Osceola, and Twin Brooks townships in Grant County; and all of Codington County;

Director 3: representing the cities of Brookings, Elkton, and Aurora in Brookings County; Elkton, Medary, Parnell, and Trenton townships in Brookings County; and all of Moody County;

Director 5: representing the Sioux Falls voting districts 3-5, 3-6, 3-12, 3-14, 4-1, 4-3, 4-4, 4-5, 4-6, 4-14, and 5-18; and Mapleton township in Minnehaha County;

Director 7: representing the city of Sioux Falls in Lincoln County; and Sioux Falls voting districts 2-1, 2-2, 2-8, 2-9, 5-12, and 5-13;

Director 9: representing the Sioux Falls voting districts 2-3, 4-13, 2-6, 2-7, 2-14, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 4-11, and 4-12; the city of Valley Springs in Minnehaha County; and Split Rock and Valley Springs townships in Minnehaha County.

In accordance with South Dakota Codified Law 46A-3B-4, persons interested in seeking a director position may obtain nominating petitions and related materials from the EDWDD office, the Office of the Secretary of State or the respective county auditors.

To request the above referenced petition materials, or to ask questions about the pending vacancies, the petition process, or other matters, please contact:

Jay Gilbertson, EDWDD Manager 132B Airport Avenue Brookings, South Dakota 57006 (605) 688-6741 edwdd@brookings.net