NFHS 2017-18 QUIZ

1. Tape may be used to extend the 14 foot line to 28 feet when dealing with the coaching box? T-F.
 
2. When reporting fouls this year to the table, the calling official will use two hands with the exception of single digit numbers? T-F.
 
3. The official when reporting a foul shall say two-four blue and not twenty- four blue? T-F.
 
4. The panel of the shoulder area of the jersey on the back may be used for placing an identifying name as well? T-F.
 
5. A warning to a coach/team for misconduct is an administrative procedure by an official, which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the Head Coach? T-F.
 
6. The Coach of Team A curses at the trail official. The trail official issues a behavioral warning? T-F.
 
7. The Coach of Team leaves their coaching box and is front of the scoring table and "yells", "play 34". The trail official issues a behavioral warning? T-F.
 
8. The ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in when the thrower-in catches the ball? T-F.
 
9. The ball is at the disposal of the free thrower when the free thrower catches the ball? T-F.
 
10. A player has a head covering for medical reasons. They present a doctor's note which indicates the player must wear a head covering for medical reasons. This is permitted? Yes or No.
 
11. A player advises their coach that they must wear a head covering for religious reasons, the officiating crew shall permit a non- dangerous covering or wrap to be worn. The head coach and athletic director must follow the process deemed appropriate by the state? T-F.
 
12. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3 seconds, front court status, back court status, closely guarded, etc., are not factors as there has yet to be player control / team control obtained inbounds? T-F.
 
13. When the throw-in team fouls during a throw-in, it's a team control foul unless it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul? T-F.
 
14. When does a throw-in end?
 
15. A-1 the thrower-in has a throw-in in their front court. A-1 throws the ball to airborne player A-2 who catches the ball in their front court and lands in their back court. This is a legal play? Yes or No.
 
[bookmark: _GoBack]16. Same scenario as in question 15; but A-1 lands on one foot in the front court and the other lands in the backcourt. This is a back court violation? T-F.
 
17. A-1 the thrower-in has a throw-in in their front court. A-1 throws the ball to A-2 who muffs the ball into the back court. A-3 picks the ball up in the back court. The trail official rules a back court violation.
 
18. What is the penalty for an intentional personal foul?
 
19. What is the penalty for an intentional technical foul?
 
20. Any player can shoot an intentional personal foul? T-F.
 


Answers:
1. True- 1-13-2.
2. True- 2-9-1.
3. False- 2-9-1.
4. True- 3-4-4.
5. True-4-48.
6. False- 4-48.
7. True- 4-48.
8. True- 4-4-7-b.
9. True-4-4-7-b.
10. Yes- 3-5-4-e- Exception A.
11. True- 3-5-4-e- Exception B.
12. True- 17-18- Points of Emphasis.
13. True- 17-18- Points of Emphasis.
14. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player that is out of bounds with the exception of a goal; or an awarded goal in 7-5-7. The throw- in team commits a throw-in violation . 4-42-5.
15. Yes- 9-9-3.
16. False- 9-9-3.
17. False- 17-18- Points of Emphasis.
18. Two free throws to the offended player and the ball to the offended team at the spot of the foul. 10-Penalty-4.
19. Two free throws to the offended team and the ball to the offended team at the division line away from the table. 10-4-7-Penalty.
20. False- 8-2.

