NORTH NODAWAY R-VI SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION AUGUST 18, 2021

TAX HEARING & REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Samantha Brown called the tax hearing to order at 5:45 pm. Board members present were Samantha Brown, Jennifer Clements, Kane Oberhauser, Tim Blackford, Jerime Bix, Cari Cline and Vicki Riley. Others present included Superintendent Chris Turpin, Board Secretary Tiffany Whipple, Principals Roger Johnson and Ashley Marriott, Trinity Cobb and Cody Jenkins.

Vicki Riley made a motion seconded by Cari Cline to move to regular session after the public tax hearing, the motion carried.

Samantha Brown called the regular board meeting order at 6:00 pm. Board members present were Samantha Brown, Jennifer Clements, Kane Oberhauser, Tim Blackford, Jerime Bix, Cari Cline and Vicki Riley. Others presented included Superintendent Chris Turpin, Board Secretary Tiffany Whipple, Principals Roger Johnson and Ashley Marriott, Trinity Cobb, Troy Nally and Cody Jenkins.

Kane Oberhauser made a motion seconded by Jennifer Clements to approve the agenda; the motion carried.

Motion made by Kane Oberhauser to approve the consent agenda, Cari Cline seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Vicki Riley made a motion to approve the 2021-22 Tax Levy at \$4.6505 with \$3.4300 going into fund 1, \$.59 going into fund 3 and \$.6305 going into fund 4. Kane Oberhauser seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Jennifer Clements presented and moved the adoption of a resolution, entitled as follows: resolution authorizing the redemption of \$150,000 principal amount of general obligation bonds, series 2017 and authorizing the publication of notice of redemption. Vicki Riley seconded the motion, the motion carried 6-1 (Pros: Samantha Brown, Jennifer Clements, Kane Oberhauser, Tim Blackford, Vicki Riley and Cari Cline. Cons: Jerime Bix).

Motion made by Kane Oberhauser to adopt the Local Compliance Plan-Special Education as presented, Cari Cline seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Jerime Bix made a motion to approve the purchase of a glowforge for the Innovation Room at the high school from Eduporium in the amount of \$5,608.15. Jennifer Clements seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Tim Blackford made a motion to approve the following substitute teachers for the 2021-22 school year: Adam Marriott, Lindsay Alexander, Shelley Combs, Rylie Johnson, Kristi Stricker, Elizabeth Turpin, Robin Denice Teucher, Matthew Loudon, Mason Hawk, Cameron Morrison and Isiaih Prebe. Jerime Bix seconded the motion; the motion carried (Cari Cline and Vicki Riley abstained.)

Motion made by Jennifer Clements to approve Chris Turpin as the Homeless Coordinator; Vicki Riley seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Tim Blackford made a motion to approve Ashley Marriott as the 504 Coordinator; Cari Cline seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Tim Blackford made a motion to approve Roger Johnson as the Title IX Coordinator; Vicki Riley seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Motion made by Vicki Riley to approve Chris Turpin as the ELL Coordinator; Jerime Bix seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Jennifer Clements made a motion to approve Chris Turpin as the District FMLA Compliance Officer; Kane Oberhauser seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Jennifer Clements made a motion to approve the Federal Guidelines for Free and Reduced Lunch Program with Tiffany Whipple as the determining official and Chris Turpin as the hearing official. Vicki Riley seconded the motion, the motion carried.

Motion made by Tim Blackford to move into executive session, Cari Cline seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Jennifer Clements made a motion seconded by Kane Oberhauser to adjourn the BOE meeting; the motion carried.

	Samantha Brown, Board President
Attest:	
Date:	
Approved as Corrected:	
Approved as Submitted:	