It was finally time to return to the El Mirage dry lake and get the 2018 SCTA racing season under way! All of the volunteers worked super hard in the off season to make sure the opening event went off without a hitch and it ran as smooth as the lake bed was hard! A well-deserved "thanks" is in order!

118 entrants made 272 starts over the two days of racing and there were 4 rounds completed! There were 40 records set and there are two new members in the Dirty Two Club! Congrats to Brian Dean and Shane San Miguel. Nice job gentlemen! Now on to the records....

The first car into Impound was Derek McLeish driving the Team McLeish Datsun entry. Derek ran the J/GCC record up to 130.588mph. In next was Scott Goetz who pushed the E/GRMR record to 185.708 mph in the Aardema Braun Lattin Ford Roadster. Minutes later, Ed Umland laid down a very fast 277.702mph run in his namesake Eddies Chop Shop B/BGS entry. Haulin' the mail! Jeff Arnett paid us a visit after hammering the XF/BSTR of the Lattin / Stevens entry to a 174.308 mph record. The big bad 911 Roadster appeared next after Dave Davidson drove it to a 269.867mph record in the B/BFR class. Brandon Leggitt made to impound just in time to get the AA/CBFALT record certified at 245.214mph for the Arnold-Hoddinott-Leggitt-Salkins entry. Tyler Osborn rolled in just before 10am and claimed the XXO/STR record for the Osborn & Ferguson entry at 173.556mph. Jaime Duncanson pushed the RD NK Streamliner entry down the lake bed to a 106.317mph record in the XO/PP class. Mr.Osborn decided to pay us another visit on Saturday but this time it was in the Osborn & Ferguson XXO/BGALT Camaro. Tyler's double ran the record to 176.085mph in class. Sunday began with Brian Dean paying us visit after piloting the Thomas & Dean Thundersalt 2 entry to a 223.106mph record in the AA/GRMR class. This effort put Brian into the El Mirage 200 MPH Club! Congrats to Brian for earning your Merlot colored hat! The J/FALT record now stands at 114.503mph thanks to Valerie Fenn in the Warnock Campbell Fenn Suzuki powered Honda Coupe. The final car record for the meet was posted by Greg Waters. He pushed the record in F/BFR to 226.766mph while behind the wheel of the Waters/Manghelli/Romero Roadster.

On to the bikes.....

The Return of the Noonan entry was first in with John Noonan upping the record on a Hayabusa in 1650/MB-G to a speed of 232.060mph. It appears he's healed up just fine. Good to have you back in form John!! In next was Leslie Hoogerhyde riding a Suzuki GSXR 750 to a 180.294mph record in 750/MPS-F for the Hoogerhyde Honey entry. The Old Number Seven entry ridden by Shane San Miguel rolled in on a Hayabusa with a 202.510mph record in the 1350/MPS-F class. This was his ticket to the El Mirage 200 MPH Club. Congrats Shane! Jess Thomas rode the TVN Special entry to a 117.869 mph record in 650/M-VG on a Triumph T110. The Franz and Grubb Engines entry had Mark Summitt aboard an Aermacchi HD for a 124.042mph record in the 350/M-PF class. Robert F.Smith was handling duty for the Morini Race Team entry in the 350/M-PBG class. His 108.476mph effort was on a Moto Morini. Ralph Leclercq rode the Team McLeish RS entry to a 123.773mph record in the 125/MPS-F class aboard a Honda RS125R. Catherine Butler ran the record in the 650/M-F class to 179.085 for the Van Butler Racing entry riding a CBR600RR. Jay Allen rode the Jay Allen Racing entry to a 209.487 mph record in the 2000/APS-PBG class aboard a HD Dyna. I'm sure Chris Rivas has mixed emotions about this one! Pat Womack twisted the throttle to a 221.653mph record for the Womack LSR entry in the 1350/MPS-BF class while aboard a Hayabusa.

The Justin Minahan entry, ridden by Justin himself upped the 650/MPS-VG record to 117.614mph with a Triumph TR6. The 350/M-G record now stands at 121.664mph thanks to Dwight Klapper's ride aboard a Yamaha RZ350 for the Hall's Precision entry. The Burt Crow entry had Leslie Cadwallader riding a Kawasaki KX85 and moved the record in the 100/M-G class to 93.679mph. Eric Wittler rode the Scoundrel Racing Suzuki GSXR entry to a 190.575mph record in the 1000/A-G class. John Noonan made another appearance on a Hayabusa for the Return of the Noonan entry but this time in 2000/M-G with a 179.313mph blast. Derek McLeish switched from 4 wheels to 2 and set the bar in 50/MVF with a 63.135mph pass for the Team McLeish HD entry. Last years motorcycle Top Speed holder, Ralph Hudson made his way in with a 229.195mph run to re-set the record in the 650/APS-BF class on a Suzuki GSXR. The Go Go Gidget Racing entry ridden by Tracie Carroll on a Yamaha R6 posted a 153.870mph speed in the 650/MG class to improve on her record from last season. Way to go TC!! Stacie B.London rode to an 87.254mph record in the 250/M-PG class on her Harley Davidson Sprint. What a way to end the day! Sunday morning started with Dwight Klapper bumping his previous day's record to 127.056mph in the 350/M-G class for the Hall's Precision entry. Pat Womack pushed the record set Saturday to 229.113mph for the Womack LSR entry in the 1350/MPS-BF class. Next in was Randy Speranza riding the Speranza Brant entry in the 1350/SC class to a 179.475mph record on a HD powered sidecar. The Shooting Star entry had Steve "Papi" Chappell riding a Kawasaki ZX14 to a 192.593mph record in the 1650/MPS-G class. Jay Allen bumped the record he set Saturday to 215.364mph in the 2000/APS-PBG class for the Jay Allen Racing entry. Ralph Hudson popped in again and re-set his record to 230.770mph in the 650/APS-BF class for his namesake entry. Dwight Klapper rang in for the third time and pushed his record to 127.322 mph for the Hall's Precision entry in the 350/M-G class. Justin Minahan reeled off a 119.752mph run to improve on his previous day's record in the 650/MPS-VG class. To finish off the meet, John E.Laird riding for the Laird Smith Triumph entry now owns the 650/MPF record with a 131.755mph effort while on a Triumph TT.

Fast speed of the meet for cars was set by the Flashpoint entry at 293.855mph and John Noonan peeled of a 232.060mph run for fastest motorcycle and a record in class.

The 2018 season is off and running and hopefully the June meet runs as smooth as this one did. Thanks again to all the SCTA volunteers, racers, crew and fans for making the May meet a success. The next race is on June 10th with tech day being on Saturday the 9th. See you then!

Mike Kaehny Dan Warner
Record Certification Officer Senior Recor

Senior Record Consultant