

Mailing Address:

Sugarland Lodge No. 281 P.O. Box 72

Clewiston, FL 33440

SUGARLAND LODGE NO.281 F&AM

TRESTLE BOARD—JUNE 2023

STATED COMMUNICATION FIRST AND THIRD THURSDAY Dinner at 6:30 PM

Communication at 7:30 PM

June 1 June 15



Saturday, June 3rd at 10:00AM

*Coffee & Donuts will be served

520 E. Sugarland Hwy Clewiston, Florida 33440-0072



2023 OFFICERS

Elected

WORSHIPFUL MASTER: ROBERT MARSH, PM Phone: (863) 234-5565 email: <u>rtmarsh1@msn.com</u>

SENIOR WARDEN: TONY WEEMS, PM Phone: (863) 263-5513 email: <u>kardsmart@yahoo.com</u>

JUNIOR WARDEN: ROY GATTONE

Phone: (863) 228-6727 email: aiminghygh62@aol.com

 TREASURER: JON BASQUIN

 Phone: (863) 228-7180
 email: <u>basquinwelding@gmail.com</u>

SECRETARY: RICHARD CLEMMONS, PM Phone: (863) 227-7469 email: <u>brewtalone@yahoo.com</u>

Appointed

CHAPLAIN: MIKE MOORE, PM

MARSHAL: JOEL CASE, PDDGM

SENIOR DEACON: TOMMY RUDD

JUNIOR DEACON: KHRISTIAN MOORE

SENIOR STEWARD: JESSE GUTERRIZ

JUNIOR STEWARD: JOE MCLENDON

TYLER: JUAN CARLOS SANTANA

GRAND LODGE OFFICERS FOR DISTRICT 22

DISTRICT DEPUTY GRAND MASTER R: W: Stephen Nelson Email: <u>stephennelson2@gmail.com</u> Phone: (772) 333-4973

DISTRICT INSTRUCTOR R∴W∴ Frank E. Kiefer Email: <u>Kieferfrank@icloud.com</u> Phone: (772) 341)-7806

GREETINGS FROM THE EAST



Greeting From Grand Lodge!

I would like to Congratulate all the new Grand Line Officers elected for the 23/24 year.

I will give a report of proceedings Thursday night at Lodge.

Please keep Brother Roy Gattone in your prayers as he travels North to be with family due to illness of his sister. Also, keep Bro. Luis Napoles in your prayers as he will be undergoing eye surgery in June; hope for successful results and a speedy recovery.

This Saturday, June 3rd, we will be conducting Part 1 of 3 of Masonic Leadership Training (MLT). If you plan on advancing through the chairs you MUST complete these courses along with Master Mason 1, 2 & 3.

Safe Travels, my Brothers. See you in Lodge; W∴ RL Marsh, PM Worshipful Master





W∴ Tony Weems and W∴ RL Marsh represented Sugarland Lodge at the LaBelle Chamber Golf Scramble.

Quote of the Month

Everybody really knows what to do to have his life filled with joy. What is it? Quit hating people; start loving them. Quit being mad at people; start liking them. Quit doing wrong; quit being filled with fear. Quit thinking about yourself and go out and do something for other people. Everybody knows what you have to do to be happy. But the wisdom of the test lies in the final words: "If ye know these things, happy are ye if ye do them."

-Norman Vincent Peale

NOTES FROM A CHAPLAIN By Brother Phil Keyes, LaBelle No. 379

I am often too quick in judging others and condemning their actions, or their lack of action. This is not a good thing for me to do and I am working to correct the problem. But, we live in an age where a virtual flood of judging others is inundating almost every aspect of our life. Not



only are individuals being judged, but the condemnations extend to our Lodges, our government, our churches, schools, and even the foods we prefer.

We are taught that "peace and harmony" should prevail and that brotherly love is the cornerstone in maintaining a happy existence. Unfortunately in many instances this is not happening and it can not happen if we are being judgmental about decisions someone else is making. Social media, I think, makes it easier and quicker for our society to express condemnations. (Another one of my quick judgements.)

Being judgmental isn't something new. It has been going on for thousands of years and probably will continue until the end of time. Yet, there is something you and I can do. We can refuse to participate whether the judgment is within our Lodge or abroad in the world. Let us try to speak and act positively at all times in all situations. Pray for my success – and yours.

🂩 PAST MASTERS 🌛

C.M. Pickle	1948 & 1949	Oswell L. Sutton	1973	Kevin M. Moore	1997
	1950		1974	Ronald Evans	1998
W.W. Perry		Troy T. Cotton	-		
Ezra E. Kelly	1951	Thomas Adams	1975	Wayne Wilkins	1999
James C. Jackman	1952	James Sorrells	1976	Glen R. Mickey	2000
W.J. Robinson	1953	T.W. Jack Wynn	1977	Alvin Akridge	2001
John R. Barton	1954	Bob Goedhart	1978	David J. Veale	2002
Floyd Andrews	1955	Melvin Keen	1979	Melvin Keen	2003
C.M. Giddens	1956	David Veale	1980	Teodoro "Ted" Reyes	2004
Lawrence E. Lee	1957	E. Edwards	1981	Richard Clemmons	2005
John Doty	1958	William Griffin Perry	1982	Melvin Keen	2006 & 2007
Robert E. Goedhart	1959	William "Bill" Thomas	1983	Teodoro "Ted" Reyes	2008 & 2009
John W. Wynn	1960	Wayne Wilkins	1984	John Cote	2010
Lewis W. Wethington	1961	John David Thomas	1985	Kevin M. Moore	2011
Thadis W. Wynn	1962	John Stanberry	1986	Kevin Nelson	2012 & 2013
John M. Drake	1963	James Armstrong	1987	Cecil O. Akin	2014 & 2015
Donald M. Galassini	1964	Wayne Wilkins	1988	Teodoro "Ted" Reyes	2016
Melvin C. Keen	1965	T.W. Jack Wynn	1989	William T. Maddox	2017
Abner H. Vann	1966	Price Wileman	1990	R.L. Marsh	2018 & 2019
Bobby Giddens	1967	John Drake	1991	John Cote	2020
Robert I. Pearce	1968	David J. Veale	1992	Kevin M. Moore	2021
W. Perry	1969	Wayne Wilkins	1993	R.L. Marsh	2022-2023
Robert Stacey	1970	Jim Griffin	1994	PRENG	and and a second se
Carl E. Wilson	1971	Glenn R. Mickey	1995	NISDOM STALEARD	DEAUTIN
Perl Corrington Spires	1972	Alvin Akridge	1996	M. M. M.	