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Notes On The Miss Rule 
 
As stated in the Rules and Constitution Rule 1(c) the League abides by the full Rules 
of the game as laid down by the WPBSA. Included with this is the Miss Rule. 
Because of the wide range of standards within the League and the difficulties in 
refereeing/interpreting the Rule, the Committee ask all players/referees to use 
common sense through the Divisions, i.e. the higher the standard of play the stricter 
you should be, and the lower the standard of play the more lenient you should be in 
enforcing the rule. 
 
In what is always going to be a difficult part of the game, we ask all players to be 
honest, and if you feel you have not made your best effort to get out of a snooker in 
relation to your standard of play, please declare that. 
 
Conclusive situations in which the League feel they can advise you on its use are 

a) Anything short is a definite foul or miss. 
b) It is accepted that if there is a one cushion escape a Miss will be called, 

although this is not a hard and fast rule.  An exception to this would be an 
extremely difficult snooker, and if the striker makes a what is judged to be a 
reasonable attempt to get out of the snooker, no Miss should be called. 

c) If a striker can see any part of an object ball (ball on) he/she is playing and 
fails to make contact the referee shall call a Foul and a Miss. 

d) A Miss can be called a maximum of 3 times from the same position, and on 
the 4th attempt a Foul only should be called.  

e) A Miss cannot be called against a striker when his opponent requires a 
snooker before, or as a direct result of, the shot played by the striker.  If you 
think a player clearly cheated the situation, you can then call a foul based 
on unsporting behaviour regardless of the difference in the scores. 

f) If a striker can make contact with the full diameter of the ball he/she is 
playing, and fails to do so, the referee shall call an automatic Foul and a 
Miss. Do not confuse this with a free ball. Further failure to strike the ‘ball on’ 
if asked to play from the same position playing the same shot, will result in 
the referee warning the striker that if he/she plays the same shot a third time 
and fails to strike a ‘ball on’ he/she will forfeit the frame. Please don’t let this 
happen. 

g) A Miss cannot be called on the final black. 
 
Please demonstrate genuine sportsmanship with this difficult rule and remember, if 
in doubt consult both players, but the referee’s decision is final. 
 
Finally, please do not call a committee member on the night with a problem on the 
Miss Rule, use your good nature to resolve it in a sporting manner. 
Any team which requires instruction or a refresher on the Miss Rule should contact 
any of League’s qualified referees who will gladly give instructions. 
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The ‘Foul And A Miss’ Flowchart 
 
 

 
 

A stroke is made and no ‘ball on’ is first contacted by the cue ball 

How much of any ‘ball on’ could be or was 
available as a direct stroke? 

Part None Full ball or more 

Call Foul and a Miss First or second attempt 
from this position? 

First Second 

Were snookers required 
before or after the strike? 

No 

Call Foul only 

Yes 

Call Foul and a Miss, 
plus warning if applicable 

Call Foul and a Miss, 
but no warning 

3 attempts from the 
same position? 

Yes No 

On next strike from the 
same position if no 

‘ball on’ is hit call Foul 
only 

Were snookers required 
before or after the strike? 

Call Foul only Yes No 


